We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't have asked for more pleasant accomodations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menteith House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Menteith House
Save
You added Menteith House to your Saves list
15 Elmwood Drive | Prebbleton, Christchurch 7676, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 131 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Binghamton, New York
1 review
“We couldn't have asked for more pleasant accomodations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

It is difficult to decide which is the best aspect of this B&B, the hosts Fay and Stephen Graham or the pleasant accomodations themselves. We think Fay and Stephen win this contest with their friendly manner and ability to make you feel like you are more than just a guest.
We hope they will have a spot for us on our next trip to the Christchurch area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with my son & daughter, and were treated like members of the family rather than paying guests. On the first night we joined the other guests for drinks around the pool. Restaurants were booked for us.The breakfast menu was different every day
This is one of the best B&B's I have stayed on.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Faye and Stephen were wonderful hosts and provided us numerous ideas of places to visits with their local knowledge of the South island for the 3 days we stayed. They also were most accommodating when I made a mistake on arranging accomodations the night before we flew back to the US. They welcomed us back with very short notice. The B&B itself is quite clean, quiet , and comfortable. We'd love to return someday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We spent two nights at each end of our tour round south Island. Fay and Stephen were wonderful hosts, sharing their knowledge of the area with us and helping us to plan trips. Our room was very comfortable and very peaceful. The breakfasts were delicious, as were the homemade cakes and biscuits. We particularly enjoyed out glasses of wine at 6pm! We would recommend this b&b to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Menteith Country House is an absolute treasure. Fay and Stephen are absolutely delightful hosts - nothing was too much trouble whether it be cooking me a meal at night or offering to wash laundry. From the moment I arrived I was warmly welcomed and provided with a drink and biscuits. The room was exceptionally clean, the bed and pillows were delightful and bathroom spacious with toiletries and soft towels provided. I was fortunate to have the room at the end with a wonderful view overlooking the garden and benefited from the sun streaming in in the afternoon. I looked forward to breakfast every morning with Stephen cooking something different each day. Their son's honey (Manuka and Clover) is a real treat.
I would recommend having a car if staying here as the public transport to Christchurch and surrounds is infrequent. As the purpose of my trip was business I cannot comment on tourist attractions nearby.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Hosts Fay and Stephen made us feel most welcome and oneof the family.We loved the room and the swimming pool. Stephen's breakfasts and Fay's home made bread were a highlight, The room was comfy and they have alpacas too.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

A beautiful home set in lovely surroundings on the outskirts of Christchurch. Fay and Stephen could not have been more welcoming! As we were the only guests, Fay moved us into a larger room which was very comfortable and extremely well appointed, with everything you could wish for.
Fay and Stephen were unstinting with their time, help and superb advice on where to visit and where to eat and shop.
We had an absolutely fantastic time and will make this our first stop on our return trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menteith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menteith House

Address: 15 Elmwood Drive | Prebbleton, Christchurch 7676, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menteith House is a quality bed and breakfast in 'The Elms on Prebbleton' only 15 minutes from airport/city.Being at the end of a lane we enjoy tranquility and great views of mountains and Port Hills from our upstairs guest rooms and lounge. Savour the flavors of the family’s specialty honeys with your hearty breakfast. Fay is an avid spinner of differing fibers - try your hand! Our Port Hills queen bed collects the morning sun while Copland has a garden and mountain outlook with flexible king/twin beds. Both rooms are served by a spacious private bathroom. Join us for 'happy hour' on our sunny deck outside the lounge. Good local restaurants within walking distance. Bus stop a short walk from Menteith. Our friendly cat 'Whisky' comes and goes. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menteith House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.