We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Homestead stay on steady ground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Grange Guesthouse & Motel to your Saves list
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   56 Armagh Street | Central City, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 131 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
chennI
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Boutique Homestead stay on steady ground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Grange is a Boutique B&B in the main homestead itself and behind is a Motel.
The main house boasts of being entirely built of the strong native timbers Kauri and Totara and survived many quakes.
There are 5 large boutique suites very tastefully decorated with large bathrooms which are very stylish and modern. All necessary toiletries are provided and the Room and bath are heated.A small luggage storage in the room was a bonus.The bed was large and bedding conducive to a good nights sleep.
The rooms are well stocked and the Lone Goat sauvignon Blanc that they had was really good. One thing I missed though was a clock in the room and moisturiser in the bath.
It is situated on the corner of Cramner Square,on Armagh making it the closest to the re:START mall & the Botanic Gardens. Almost most places in the city are within walking distance and there are some good restaurants nearby. Be sure to take a card from the reception to avail of small compliments.
Breakfast is sumptuous and you have a choice of hot and cold with refreshingly freshly brewed coffee. I cannot say the same of the juices which were from the can.
Polite and helpful, they are ready to please you and help out with your queries.
The house itself is quaint and grand. The front is somewhat bare and patches of greenery would certainly add to the look.
Did feel the pricing was a bit steep though.

Room Tip: If your have a lot of luggage please opt for the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    113
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
301
50
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Pleasant good sized room. Close to the city centre but alot of that isn't there anymore after the earthquake. Some decent restaurants and a nice pub - Pegasus Arms - close by. We took the tour to Akaroa, worthwhile.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Christchurch - following the earthquakes - has few hotels / motels in the central area. The Grange is very well located - close to the rebuild of the CBD, gardens, parks, river. Building is in top class order - no damage - and is beautifully furnished. Staff v helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed in the man house; lovely big room with lots of character and decorated stylishly with all modern conveniences. Nice communal lounge with use of laptop and computer. Staff very pleasant, breakfast good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Of course, Christchurch was terribly devastated almost three years ago. But The Grange escaped really great harm; nonetheless it was redone, and the results are very good. Formerly a physician's residence, it still has a very 'homey' and particularly 'clean' atmosphere. It was a joy to be here.
Reception was excellent: efficient and friendly, if a bit amateurish (but that makes it feel like a real home and not some Superefficient Chain!).
My room was spacious! Very good bed; everything you might need in a small kitchen. A very large bathroom. Everything spic-and-span.
WiFi left rather a lot to be desired; it had to be reset rather too often.
Fine fresh breakfast.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in Room 11 of the motel portion of The Grange on a 2 week trip to New Zealand in November 2013. I can honestly say that it was one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in. The staff is wonderful and very friendly, the rooms, B&B, grounds, everything is immaculate and well cared for. We traveled all over New Zealand, but kept our studio apartment as our "home base" and I am very glad we did. Our laundry was done for us, we could have breakfast in the B&B, had a little kitchenette so we could have small meals in our room/apartment. Not only that, but it is a short walk to really good restaurants, shopping, parks, etc. It was just perfect. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Room 11 is perfect for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We chose to use the motel portion of The Grange for our visit for its kitchen facilities and it worked well for us, especially when we did take out from Pedro's House of Lamb. The room (upstairs) was somewhat small compared to American motel standards, but clean and well appointed. If you want to watch TV, you'll do so sitting on the bed. Other than one Sky Sport channel, the TV lineup was the usual limited New Zealand selections. Wi-fi wasn't functioning upon our arrival but was quickly sorted out the next morning, and we were welcomed into the main building to use their signal in the interim. As noted elsewhere, the hosts are friendly and helpful. Parking is free but if you come back late in the evening, you may have to park on the street. Next time we'll try the B&B component in the main building.

Room Tip: There are so many diversions, street closures and detours due to the earthquake that using printed G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grange Guesthouse & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Address: 56 Armagh Street | Central City, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange Guesthouse & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Boutique B&B and Motel is situated on the corner of Cramner Square, making us the closest Motel to the re:START Cashel Street mall & the Botanic Gardens. We are the ideal location for guests involved in the rebuild of the City Centre.Classic & contemporary, the newly renovated Grange B&B holds 5 large individually decorated, boutique Suites; all with Queen or Super King beds. The Motel at the rear of the Manor has 4 Studio and 4 1-Bedroom self-contained apartment style units on 2 levels, with modern decor & fittings. Make sure to stop in and grab a complimentary Latte or such from our Barista on your way out for the day!In the vicinity:A leisurely 5-10 minute walk east will find you at Cathedral Square, leading back to The Arts Centre, The Art Gallery & The Canterbury Museum. To our west, is the lovely Botanic Gardens & Hagley Park. We are only a short walk to top class restaurants such as 'Tiffany's' and 'Cook N with Gas' & the newly re-opened 'Coffee House' is 300 metres from Cathedral Grammar & Christ's College. Strolling down the Avon River will lead you to the 're:START' Cashel Street mall. Entertainment can be found at The Christchurch Casino & Victoria Street has many bars & cafes to visit.Free wireless Internet access is available to all guests. Sightseeing tours & onward travel can be arranged. Special requests & group bookings are most welcome.All rooms are Smokefree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Grange Guesthouse & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange Guesthouse & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.