We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation with very friendly & hepful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Grange Guesthouse & Motel to your Saves list
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   56 Armagh Street | Central City, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 131 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation with very friendly & hepful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in a B&B room for 2 nights and then on our return to Christchurch after a coach tour stayed in one of the motel units at the back. We arrived late and had no trouble entering the property with the well directed instructions left for us. The breakfast was fantastic as well as the room being spacious and spotlessly clean. On arrival back off our tour we stayed in a motel room for 4 nights and it was a beautifully presented and a spacious room with a kitchenette. We were both a little unwell and one of the staff members drove us to a supermarket so that we could get some food and come back and relax in our room and for that we thank you. I would recommend this property to anyone, it is close to everything and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Trish Perry Gold Coast

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    113
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
300
50
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the B&B for 3 nights in a large king room. It was like stepping back into another era, beautifully decorated, clean, very comfortable quiet and private! Great breakfasts and very friendly staff. I would recommend the Grange to anyone visiting Christchurch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in one of the motel units, which was nice and quiet (with no road noise) even though the Grange was fully booked. The unit was fresh, clean and well furnished and the bathroom was very new & with underfloor heating was nice and warm. The location was within easy walking distance of Hagley Park & the netball courts. Free wifi was much appreciated also. If you want central, quiet, clean & modern we would highly recommend the units as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the B&B in the main house for four nights, in a glorious twin bedded room which was huge, very comfortable, clean and luxurious.It was a pleasure to return each evening after trips out all day.The breakfast was very good and set us up for the day.The staff were very helpful and friendly.Due to the rebuilding work we only found a couple of places to eat nearby but they were good.If you are visiting Christchurch I thoroughly recommend staying at The Grange.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very friendly staff, and comfortable premises. I chose the smaller room 8, and it was certainly the perfect match of size versus cost for a short business visit on my own. The breakfast was delicious, the unlimited free Wifi was very welcome (and no crazy 20MB limit that I had elsewhere in NZ)

Don't leave dinner plans until too late, there aren't many local options for food due to the continuing building works from the earthquake in 2011, and many close early.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello SJF00,

Thank you very much for taking a few minutes on write this for us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here, and even if Room 8 is a bit small, you've found it quite convenient for a single person on business!..

Hope to see you next time!..

Regards,

Eva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Staff are friendly and really willing to help. The room was very clean and tidy and well decorated and looked modern. Bed was comfortable. Location is also very good. I couldn't ask for more value for the money I spent :-)
I definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi Farzad P.

Thank you very much for taking time on posting this great review!..

We happy you liked our Motel Section, they've been re-decorated a couple of months ago, so we did well :)

See you next time!

Regards,

Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I am a frequent business traveler to Christchurch, over the past few months I have opted to stay at The Grange when visiting and have been impressed every time. I have alternated between the Bed & Breakfast and Motel options.

I am always been impressed with the friendly staff, tidy and well set out rooms and the price - The breakfasts are also well worth trying out! Only slight downside is 'room 8' in the B & B is slightly noisy being by the front door, however this is reflected in the price.

Room Tip: Room 8 in the B & B is cheaper, however is a bit noisy with people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi NZL_JC,

Thank you very much for taking some time on writing this great review for us!

We really appreciate your words, and is always good to know that we are doing a good job for our guests.

See you soon!

Regards,

Linda & Eva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grange Guesthouse & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

Address: 56 Armagh Street | Central City, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange Guesthouse & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Boutique B&B and Motel is situated on the corner of Cramner Square, making us the closest Motel to the re:START Cashel Street mall & the Botanic Gardens. We are the ideal location for guests involved in the rebuild of the City Centre.Classic & contemporary, the newly renovated Grange B&B holds 5 large individually decorated, boutique Suites; all with Queen or Super King beds. The Motel at the rear of the Manor has 4 Studio and 4 1-Bedroom self-contained apartment style units on 2 levels, with modern decor & fittings. Make sure to stop in and grab a complimentary Latte or such from our Barista on your way out for the day!In the vicinity:A leisurely 5-10 minute walk east will find you at Cathedral Square, leading back to The Arts Centre, The Art Gallery & The Canterbury Museum. To our west, is the lovely Botanic Gardens & Hagley Park. We are only a short walk to top class restaurants such as 'Tiffany's' and 'Cook N with Gas' & the newly re-opened 'Coffee House' is 300 metres from Cathedral Grammar & Christ's College. Strolling down the Avon River will lead you to the 're:START' Cashel Street mall. Entertainment can be found at The Christchurch Casino & Victoria Street has many bars & cafes to visit.Free wireless Internet access is available to all guests. Sightseeing tours & onward travel can be arranged. Special requests & group bookings are most welcome.All rooms are Smokefree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Grange Guesthouse & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange Guesthouse & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.