We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 201 is nice, retro and red.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Park Motor Lodge

Central Park Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Central Park Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Central Park Motor Lodge
15 Riccarton Road | Central City, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Room 201 is nice, retro and red.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed here with work (airline crew) and occasionally the standard hotels we stay in are booked out so our crewing department sources other locations that, as per our contract, have a 4 star minimum. I was in room 201 on this visit. It's upstairs and basically faces the road. There are plenty of amenities nearby including a pub and KFC etc etc. These are all within walking distance. The traffic noise is a little loud at night if you are staying in this room. Also, watch out when you go up the stairs at night as the hallways and stairs are not lit very well and you could easily break your neck. Room had microwave, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities and a nice surprise of a DVD player. Watch the shower head in this room as it was lose and collapsed a few times and could easily fall on your head. There was a double bed in the main room and another room with a double bed also. Carpets could have had a bit of a clean but I have seen alot worse. I liked the retro red curtains, bed sheets etc and the cushions on the bed were plentiful. All in all, not a bad place and as I mentioned, plenty of facilities nearby.

Room Tip: Try room 201. Yes, upstairs but probably one of the bigger rooms with more light and a DVD player et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    6
    3
    12
See reviews for
8
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

There are plenty of motels in Riccaton and with the city center closed it's a pretty good area to stay if you are passing through Christchurch.
I chose this particular motel for the simple reason that it is in a pretty good location for the airport, Hagley park and shops, it also looked clean and tidy from the outside and also from a quick inspection when I made the booking.
Unfortunately on arrival we quickly discovered we were not in a particularly nice motel. Light bulbs in the room didn't work, the shower was broken, the bathroom floor was very old and in need of replacing & the TV not tuned in properly.
I could go on but I will simply say for the price they charge you expect the basics to be right. Here, the basics of hospitality are very wrong and I will certainly not be returning.

Central Park Motor Lodge is NOT recommended and with so many brilliant motels in Chritchurch and all over New Zealand, this one was a big disappointment and a great pity on the last day of our holiday in a wonderful country.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Be aware that this is only a 1 or max. 2 star motel, charging 4 to 5 star prices. Make sure you barter with them with the price. Clarify your expectations-you need to spell out things that one would take for granted, such as getting your room cleaned, etc. Make sure you check the room before you make a booking, and be aware of what they are offering.
We were originally charged $220 per night for 2 adults, but weren't too concerned as it was being paid for by insurance. However, after 2 nights, we couldnt stay any longer. Not only wasit noisy, with a car thoroughfare going right past our window, and people of 'ill repute' frequenting the unit next door, but the place was dirty. the carpet was old and stained, the shower didnt work properly, there were cracks in several windows. The toilet and bathroom windows opened in a way that anyone walking past could see in. There were no extra touches, unless you count fake flowers.
The TV was ok, but a set of instructions would have helped.
There was one couch-a sofa bed-which was as hard as board.
When the room was done, staff seemed to knocking all day with bits and pieces, such as towles, etc, making us feel intruded upon unnecessarily.
Like I said-a 1 star motel that should be shargng appropriate prices and not ripping people off.
Oh yes-you have to pay extra for washing facitlities.
We moved out when we could and found a much nicer place for less oney.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had to stay overnight in Christchurch before our next flight.
This place seemed reasonably priced compared to most other accomodation in Christchurch.
We had to pay a total of $45 transport going to and from the airport. So if there was something good quality which was closer to or at the airport for $30 - $40 more, then perhaps that would be an equally good option.
Location-wise this place has a Shopping Mall and several different kinds of eating places all within 5 - 10 minutes walk down the road it is on.
The attendant was helpful. We had an initial problem with the DVD player not connecting properly to the TV and he came over promptly and fixed that up.
The TV itself was a really big flat-screen which was great.
The bed was very attractively laid out and comfortable enough for a good night's sleep.
The room was clean, everything where it should be. Bathroom and shower all worked fine. Kitchen was quite useable.
There was a slight bit of noise from some people who must have been getting quite loud outside a nearby pub but the room was actually quite well soundproofed in general (couldn't hear anyone in adjacent rooms and from outside the front door you can't hear anything happening inside - tested with the TV blaring) and I rapidly got to sleep.
They pre-booked transport to pick us up in the morning which arrived on time.
If we had to stopover again, we'd probably stay there again as we liked the place, unless there was a good deal going on a quality accomodation very close to the airport.
Additionally, I left our DVD player charger in the room and sent the attendant a post bag to send it back to us overseas which he did which was really good.

Room Tip: The one-bedroom room we had on the ground floor facing the carpark was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in a studio room, it was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was small but there was plenty of hot water. Yes the noise from the road is quite loud - if you are a light sleeper then this may not be the motel for you or ask for a room towards the rear of the property. The motel is in a good location, 10 minute walk to the westfield shopping centre, park 3 mins away and plenty of local resturants near by. Freindly staff, our late arrival and early departure were no problems and they were more then happy to pre-book a taxi for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Unfortunately I have to agree with the previous two reviewers. Whilst the location is close to Hagley Park and Riccarton, my experience was that the standard and overall service of the facilities was poor. The bathroom had broken lino which was broken into several pieces but not cleaned up - this was not a new breakage in the lino. The shower had black mould and grime in several corners - again not a new event. Television reception was very poor with grainy pictures and sound quality on all but one channel. Internet reception was non existent apart from further down the balcony and outside the office. Room service and cleaning was poor. Bed linen - no vallance on one bed and all skewed on the others. Charged for newspaper but no indication that it would cost when ordered it.
We were very disappointed in this motel and will not be returning to it or recommending it to anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

My grandmother booked a 3 night stay at this motor lodge. She arrived the night of the Christchurch earthquake and stayed their for her first night. Because the motor lodge had NO POWER & NO WATER and as all tourists were being asked to leave the area if possible, my elderly grandmother decided to check-out after the 1 night & travel south to stay with relatives. The hotel owner/manager on duty told my grandmother that because they were choosing to leave early, they would have to pay for the whole 3 nights stay. Again, there was NO POWER & NO WATER, what were they expected to do for the next 3 nights! So stay away from this place unless you want to be completely ripped off.
SHAME ON YOU Central Park Motor Lodge for taking advantage of people in a time of terrible crisis!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Motor Lodge

Address: 15 Riccarton Road | Central City, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Central Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Park Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.