We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Gateway Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   45 Roydvale Ave, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
sawbridgeworth
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were picked up from the airport around midnight, by the shuttle service offered by the motel. The room was exceptional, and looked to have been refurbished very recently. The facilities were excellent and the staff very helpful. We wanted for nothing at this Motel and wished we had used it as a centre for sightseeing in Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    166
    64
    31
    20
See reviews for
133
193
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We arrived in Christchurch around midnight . The free shuttle service was prompt and welcomed .
The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful with a late check out and driving us directly to the rental car office. The rooms are showing their age a little but have been fitted out as well as could be expected. All in all a pleasant transit stop and I would recommend it highly

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here the night before our departure flight back to the US. I wish the hotel was in a resort area because we were blown away by how nice the hotel and rooms were. We had one of the updated rooms for a few extra dollars. It has a new LCD TV, surround sound (with in-wall speakers) and bluray player. There are modern outlets around the room which have a blue LED that turns on when you plug in a device (unfortunately there is no way to turn the LED off, aside from unplugging...this give the room an unfortunately bright glow when you turn the lights off.
The bathroom is gorgeous with a nice shower, marble tiles..the works. Very impressed for the price.

Room Tip: the price for one of the newer rooms is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Two night stop prior to transfer via airport to Sydney. The location is perfect for airport and the provision of free transport at any time is a real plus. The superior studios are outstanding , tastefully finished to a high standard. reception staff were excellent and very helpful. Situated on the edge of Christchurch a car is useful for visiting though public transport is available. Transferring customers did cause a little disturbance overnight

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Fab motel so near the airport. Very clean with everything you would need for the stay. Everything was very clean.plenty of room to park the car. Also easy to return rental car from here which was a bonus.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed in one of the older 2-bedroom units as there were four of us. While the décor might have been somewhat dated, I couldn't fault the cleanliness. It was spotless, and we were pleasantly surprised by the living area and lovely gardens that we overlooked at the back. Note that there is only one bathroom, so you need to plan your access to it with four people going on an early morning flight. The second bedroom was pretty small and had no wardrobe, so it might not suit a longer stay, but for an overnighter it's fine. The courtesy bus runs 24 hours a day, which is terrific for getting to and from the airport and will save you a lot in taxi fares. We also ate at the restaurant and found it to serve good, not-too-expensive food. This is a better option than traipsing into the CBD, which is still a bit desolate after the quake.

Room Tip: Ground floor better with heavy suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

In the unusual situation of arriving at 5am after a 4 hour flight. Knew we would need sleep, but few local hotels appeared to be open. This was, picked us up and took us straight to room; no hanging around checking in. Just what was needed. Rooms basic but clean and fit for purpose.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 45 Roydvale Ave, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#27 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant and Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.