We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious boutique rooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Gateway Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   45 Roydvale Ave, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
sunshine coast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Luxurious boutique rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in the new section on arrival and departure. I was so grateful for the modern spacious room as we had gone without sleep for 24 hours. The bed was beautifully comfortable. Well equipped kitchenet which we didn't need to use as we used the restaurant which provides good meals. Free airport transfers included.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    166
    64
    31
    20
See reviews for
133
193
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our family stayed for a one night stopover. Great service, free airport shuttle, free wifi, picked up from airport at 2am and gave a late checkout. Friendly staff. Nice room. Convenient location near airport.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our bedroom was very spacious but very old fashioned (far from the pictures on the website)
The kitchen is well equiped, parking easy in front of the rrom, free shuttle to the airport (very convenient and the main reason why we chosed this hotel)
King size bed uncomfortable (old mattress ?), sofa from another age, humidity smells in the 2nd bedroom
Did not used the restaurant

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I picked this hotel as it was close to the airport and offered a free airport collection.
We were on a flight from Auckland which arrived in Christchurch at 11.p.m. We called the hotel on the free phone at the airport and it was not long before we were collected and in our hotel room.
We were given an upgrade which was really nice, enjoyed our 1 night stay, and after touring the South Island we returned to the hotel for another night before flying back to Auckland.
Everyone was very helpful and we would stay at the Gateway again if we ever stop off at Christchurch.
Thanks

M & M

Room Tip: M & M's 2013 Trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed here for a night before an early flight out of Christchurch airport but I wish I had been able to stay longer! I was in a lovely studio unit that was in immaculate condition. It was nicely decorated and they've used quality furniture, linens and fixtures throughout. I didn't use the kitchen but it looked very well equipped for anyone wanting to stay for a few days. There were regular shuttles - I got one at 415 am, it left promptly and we were only a few minutes drive from the airport. I'd highly recommend it and I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The studio room is very well equipped for short stays, beds are very comfy and pick up service is ideal with very friendly driver. Wifi only works on one device, so not good for syncing telephones, ipads etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at one of the new studios for two nights. The room was clean and trendy with a kitchenette. The airport shuttle service was prompt and the guy who picked us up was friendly. However we can't say the same for the girl at the reception. She never smiled and was brusque. Just before we checked in, she asked for my credit card for "authorisation". I wish she had explained what it meant because we were billed again when we checked out, and so it ended up looking like I was billed twice for the stay. When we were checking out and making payment, she got the figures mixed up and gave us a receipt for the wrong amount, but never apologized. Pity about the girl because the other service staff, who seemed to be more senior, were much friendlier.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 45 Roydvale Ave, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#27 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant and Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.