We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good airport hotel choice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Airport Gateway Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   45 Roydvale Ave, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good airport hotel choice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The room was surprisingly attractive for an airport hotel, large bathroom, helpful kitchenette, all spotless. Be aware that the dining room is not much, we walked a block or two to the Copthorne for all our meals. Reception is not particularly warm, but, all in all, a good choice for access to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    128
    55
    22
    19
See reviews for
109
141
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Before we got to the hotel we were picked up from the airport by an extremely caring Representative of the hotel (10 Nov 2013). We haven't asked for his name as it was almost midnight and freezing, sorry. The unit he led us in to was furnished with everything you need when in a hotel - very comfortable bed, kitchen with tea/coffee facilities, milk, cookies etc. and little chocolates. The bathroom had a very nice smell I can't describe now of what, but it was the nicest smell of all the bathrooms we've had on our round the world tour up to now (after 65 days). There were many towels and what is very important there were rails to hang them to dry overnight. The unit is designed in such a way that kitchen can be closed behind the glass door and you are in a living room. We stayed there only several hours but it was luxurious time.

Room Tip: we've been too short to go around - we've had a great unit on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Lankshear, General Manager at Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Exactly the experience we aim for our guests to receive.
Cheers,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I had a short stay recently (Nov 2013). Everyone there was very helpful and friendly, the reception staff, the airport pickup people etc, the room was excellent, clean and comfortable. They had an early morning airport service which was great, and something that not all hotels offered. I couldnt fault the place. I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Lankshear, General Manager at Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Exactly the experience we aim for our guests to receive.
Cheers,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very convenient , friendly and helpful staff Shuttle bus service excellent Room clean and comfortable with all the facilities required for a short stay . Average restaurant but will stay again on next visit to Ch-Ch

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Lankshear, General Manager at Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Note your feedback in regards to the restaurant; was it the food/service or both?
Cheers,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Extremely well appointed and ideal for either a short or long stay. I was pleasantly surprised by how well designed my unit interior was - especially the hidden gem of a kitchen - that has everything.
The only thing that was a little bit of a bugbear for me was the early morning traffic noise.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Away from the main road if traffic noise concerns you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Lankshear, General Manager at Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review,
Glad you enjoyed the unit, sorry about the road noise.
We look forward to seeing you again
Cheers,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We got the new wing, the furnitures were nicely build and compact, and toilet were clean. Bed is comfortable. Had a good sleep before our flight in the morning. The transport arrangement to airport was on time at 5 am. Love it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Lankshear, General Manager at Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Exactly the experience we aim for our guests to receive.
Cheers,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We travel to Christchurch regularly on business. Our schedule is always tight. We have stayed at various motels. I have never found it necessary to write a review until now. We were unimpressed by our recent experience.The receptionist was abrupt on our arrival - bordering on rude. We were made to feel we were an inconvenience. We asked if we could be placed on a waiting list for an extra day and were told "2 others have already been bumped so no" - in those exact words.The television didn't work initially so we asked assistance. We answered a barge of questions obviously based upon an assumption that we didn't have the capacity to work a TV - or had made some adjustment that we shouldn't have - neither being correct. When these efforts failed and she had to actually visit our room, her contempt for us was clear regardless of the fact that she found that the television could not be operated by the remote. Another remote was not provided - so for 4 days we had to stand beside the machine and push buttons every time we wanted to change the channel. The hot tap in the bathroom vanity was under great pressure while the cold took many turns to produce any water - consequently we soon learnt that to avoid the risk of burning ourselves we didn't turn the hot tap unless absolutely necessary. The bed was tired with age and we didn't dine at the restaurant because the selection was limited and overpriced. For the cost we have had better value and more courteous treatment at other motels just as close to the airport. In January our business requires us to stay for 8 days. We'll be staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Travel when there is more choice of motels and you can go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Airport Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 45 Roydvale Ave, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#27 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Gateway Motor Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Motel to Christchurch International Airport. Free 24 Hour a day Airport Transfers. Restaurant and Bar onsite. 40 motel units with all with Kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Airport Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Gateway Motor Hotel Christchurch
Airport Gateway Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Gateway Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.