We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only all motels provided the same standards and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscana Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tuscana Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Tuscana Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   74 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“If only all motels provided the same standards and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Imagine being warmly greeted by your motel host at the airport, receive courtesy transport to your accommodation and provided with an upgraded deluxe room because you have arrived early in the day. No it's not a dream - nothing is too difficult for owners Colin and Jude to provide for their guests. The rooms are large, extremely clean and the location is quiet. The in house meals are superbly prepared and delivered on time as you request. Try the omelette - it is huge and rates tops in our estimation and very,very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    56
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
55
94
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Andalucia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We were very happy with our 10 night stay. Had a clean, one bedroom unit with plenty of space and comfortable seating. Easy flat walk to the centre of town, plus restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed here on a Sunday night and arrived at the motel on the off-chance of availability. Room was very clean and spacious, just what we needed as we had spend the previous 7 nights in hostels! Motel was withing walking distance of Catherdral Square and the City Centre, and the staff was very friendly. Great spot to stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

The 1 bedroom was clean and very comfortable, with good kitchen facilities, a spacious living area and sky channels on TV. The owner's were very accommodating and were nice to offer 1hr internet free, since most places in New Zealand seem to always charge for internet. A close drive to Fresh Choice for groceries and also the city area. Excellent value; we were able to get the room for $135 while around the corner on colombo st, was a similar room for $165 (but they had no vacancy so they called Tuscana for us which was really nice of them!)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia / Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

My husband are I stayed here for our first night in the South Island. I had had a conversation with the owner months earlier to get advice on where to stay on our ten day trip and he was very helpful and friendly. When we arrived we were greeted by Mike who is just as lovely in person and taken to our room. The room was a ground floor studio with a courtyard, kitchenette and king bed. Very clean, and one of the best showers i've ever used! It's a bit of a walk through the park to the centre of town but a lovely one at that. Definately recommend this motel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

I booked this place as a 1 night stopover before I flew out of Christchurch. Great value for the quality of room, cleanliness and facilities provided. Well located just a few blocks from city centre and family-friendly (we had a few kids in the travel group). Friendly owners who was most helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

Comfortable, modern recently refurbished motel. Great welcome and service. Rooms spacious and clean. Nice bathroom. Excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tuscana Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscana Motor Lodge

Address: 74 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#9 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#11 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#12 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#13 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tuscana Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tuscana Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscana Hotel Christchurch
Tuscana Motel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscana Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.