We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscana Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tuscana Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Tuscana Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   74 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Adequate but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Spent two nights here in December. The Tuscana is well-located, only ten minutes' walk from the center, but on quite a busy road that remains noisy into the late evening. We were in a top-floor studio unit which was adequate but quite a bit smaller than in comparably-priced properties. The tiny but well-equipped kitchenette was behind louvered doors, as was the bathroom (shower only). When the weather was warm (by no means hot) it was necessary to open windows both in the front and rear of the unit, which meant having the two louvered doors to the bathroom open in order to create some airflow--and with the windows open, there was a lot of street noise and also noise from other guests who were entertaining in their rooms.

Mark was a gracious host, but all in all I don't understand the raves about this property. The room was the smallest studio we had in any motel around the country, and we stayed in plenty on our six week trip! The unit was very clean, but that is the norm in New Zealand. The noise aspect was a bit of a pain, as the weather was mild and we needed to keep the windows open to sleep.

A restaurant tip--Bodhi Tree, Burmese food, on 808 Colombo St--absolutely delicious. It's small and reservations are essential. We'd eat there every week if we lived in ChCh.

  • Liked — helpful staff
  • Disliked — noisy, small room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    56
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
55
94
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2007

Have you ever been away for a long trip and then when you get home, you feel that familiarity, ease and comfort? We returned back to Tuscana for another 2 nights after a very hectic long driving tour around the South Island (trip report forthcoming lol) and Mark was kind enough to offer us the same room we stayed in. That really helped spade since we knew what was where and could just sink into the sofa and rest! And because we were typical tourists, we bought spades of souvenirs and gifts to bring back for friends and family (Christmas time and all that), we got quite concerned about luggage weight. Mark loaned us his personal scale so that we could to help with the luggage balancing/ditching of unwanted stuff. We didn't have problems with outside noises from traffic (the usual youths with their souped up cars) esp when the windows were closed. Again, driving proximity to town centre and to Merivale Mall (and the further north Northland Shopping Mall which is huge), helped a lot. Tuscana, for us, was our home away from home, and it felt really good to return to Tuscana for our final nights in Aotearoa. Mark - Thanks a bundle for making our stay in NZ wonderful :)

  • Liked — Excellent Kiwi Service, Modern amenities!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

We had a great stay at our first stopover in South Island. Mark was a perfect example of a good host. We arrived at the motel at 10.30 and our room was ready within a few minutes, though the check in time was 2.00 pm. The motel has a great location, is well equipped and is tastefully done up. Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Christchurch.
Bharat from Singapore

  • Liked — The wamrth of the host
  • Disliked — The motel did not offer free Internet access. This would have made our stay perfect
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

Very comfortable room and bed. Very clean and tidy. Lovely people and very helpful. Proprietor went out of his way for a helping hand.
J. Kakebeeke

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitt meadows,bc,canda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

We stayed at the Toscana for 3 nights in late November. It was the last 3 nights of our 3 week vacation in New Zealand. Mark and his staff do a wonderful job. Our room was spotless. There is a bit of street noise but otherwise a great place to stay.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

We only spent one night in Christchurch at the beginning of our South Island travels, which was a pity. However our stay at the Tuscana was very comfortable and the location easily accessible and convenient. There was a little traffic noise, but not enough to really disturb. Would happily stay there again and recommend to others.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, U.K
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

Stayed one night and found the rooms were clean and comfortable.
Mark was lovely - very friendly and helpful.
Good location and easy to find if your coming from the airport.
Would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tuscana Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscana Motor Lodge

Address: 74 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#9 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#11 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#12 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#13 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tuscana Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tuscana Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscana Hotel Christchurch
Tuscana Motel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscana Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.