We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of glam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Clearwater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Clearwater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Clearwater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Clearwater Ave., Harewood, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand (Formerly Outrigger Clearwater Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 nights, save 10%
Ranked #51 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A touch of glam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Not sure if we were just lucky but unlike some other reviewers we had a beautiful room overlooking the lake during our September 2013 stay. The room itself was spacious, modern (loved the spa) and it was glorious sitting on the balcony watching the ducks. The restaurant food was delicious (I had salmon which was cooked to perfection) and the wine list was good, as was the service.

The 3 flights of stairs could be a bit too much if you are carrying heavy bags and this might be something for travellers to keep in mind. Request a room on the lower floor if you aren't travelling light.

Room Tip: Request a room on the lower floor if you have heavy bags. The stairs are very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Kia ora

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback.
With regards to the stairs, we have willing staff available to assist our guests with their luggage.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Clearwater Resort in the near future.
Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    70
    41
    15
    9
See reviews for
23
99
7
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at Peppers Clearwater on two separate nights at the beginning and end of our south island NZ trip.
We had asked for (and paid for) a room with a view both times. The first room was set on the street side with a small door looking through a corridor to the lake. To view the lake we had to walk between other people's balconies and stand in the cold looking at the lake and a building site opposite. The room was dark and uninviting.
The second night we didn't even take our bags up all the stairs until we were sure. It was a beautiful room with a lovely view of the lake from in the room and on the private balcony. We sat for hours watching the sky, ducks and swan.
Breakfast was excellent both mornings, but the restaurant was a huge disappointment with incredibly slow service, expensive wine and silly dishes. Go to the Beach Hut at Sumner instead!

Room Tip: Ensure a room with a balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Kia ora,

Thank you for your valued feedback. Please accept our apologies for poor level of service and food that you experienced in the Restaurant. Feedback enables us to review our operations and we have increased our staff numbers during evening service to improve our efficiency.

We have a number of different room types and the Resort. Our Likeside Rooms have the Jetty access. Our Quay Rooms are one of our room types that have the balcony and views over the lake.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the resort and we astonished at how worn the room was, the carpets were torn there were knocks in the walls there was dirt in lounge and stairs.
There was brown and black marks on the bedding and sheets.
The seat in lounge had a huge stain on it, which was hidden by a pillow.

Bird poo everywhere on balconies, just take a minute to clean.

The fridge didn't seal properly.
The TVS, had terrible reception and static, couldn't even watch.

We had been to the resort before to check out a similar room before we stayed and it was nothing like we had been shown. The customer service when checking out the room and being a guest was appalling. Felt like we were annoying them by checking in, we we just in the way and got ignored.

Will not be back! Have stayed at 3star motels that are better than this!

Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Kia ora,

Thank you for your valued feedback. It is of great concern that your stay with us was not of the standard you would have expected. We are pleased to advise the issues you have raised have been addressed and resolved.

We are sorry that you would choose not return to the Resort as we would love the opportunity to provide you with the experience that we pride ourselves on.
Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Good points: comfy bed; nice bathroom; beautiful outlook from the pier (lovely to sit in the afternoon sun even in September); nice to walk around; reasonable food in the restaurant, but...(see below).

Bad points:
- the hotel is not very close to the city centre.

- everything at an extra charge, particularly extra coffee pods and outrageously priced wifi - why is it that more expensive hotels find it appropriate to charge when smaller run lodging (including the lovely place we stayed in Akaroa) provide it free?

- restaurant service - a guest with us noted she was pregnant to the waitstaff. The salmon was cooked appropriately, but there was a small amount of rock chips/gravel in the spinach. When the waitress was advised she apologised and said she'd tell the chef. Nothing further was heard. So we raised it again on departure noting that although minor, it's not a great thing to find when pregnant given it suggests the spinach (and other things?) may not have been properly washed. The waitress was more apologetic at this point and went to speak with her manager. She then offered to refund the cost of drinks as a gesture of good will. Thinking this meant all guests drinks or at least the three drinks that the affected guest drank we accepted (forgetting two of these had been pre-purchased at the bar). What we ended up with was $4.50 refunding the one soft drink our pregnant guest had with dinner. Good will comes at a bargain price! This was an interesting choice given the food is not cheap. The money being beside the point, a better recognition at the start or an apology from the chef would have sufficed. Instead we left with a very bad taste, despite the food overall being quite good. So much for Peppers' focus on service.

-

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Kia ora
Thank you for your valued feedback. Please accept our apologies for poor level of service and food that you experienced in the Restaurant. I have looked into this matter further and brought it to the attention of our team and discussed the issue with our Head Chef. We do use rock salt in some of our food preparation and this may have been what was in your spinach. Service staff have been further informed of this and therefore will be able to explain this to our guests in the future.

The Coffee Pod machine is a new feature in our rooms and we provide two free samples for our guests to try and then they have the option to purchase more if required. This is part of our mini bar facility.

We have very recently upgraded our internet service. At the moment we offer 30 minutes free daily and then you can purchase more options starting from $10.00 for 24 hours with a 500 mb limit. Before setting the price for the Internet we made enquiries around other Christchurch Hotels and found that our option was a lot more competitive than most.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A beautiful resort, situated on a series of man-made lakes. The rooms are really great, although most are located quite a distance from the main complex. The service is ok, friendly but not exactly engaging. We did have a bad experience at the dining room. I took 8 business guests to the restaurant and because we were 20 minutes late, the chef decided to penalise us by making us wait 65 minutes for our food. Not the sort of impression you want to give US business travellers. When the food did eventually arrive, most dishes were cold. Thankfully, they agreed to only charge us for 4 meals, however, all we really wanted to good, warm food served within a reasonable time. In my opinion, the kitchen was simply poorly run. If you are a part of a big group, you should expect an average dining experience.

Room Tip: The "2000" rooms (e.g. 2025) are located on a beautiful lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Kia ora,

Thank you for your valued feed back. We are pleased that you enjoyed the standard of the accommodation. Please accept our apologies for your experience in the Restaurant. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service so it is very disappointing to hear of this. We have addressed this issue and we can assure it will not happen again.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Peppers Clearwarter Resort in Quay Room. I must say location of the resort is superb with gold course and lake closeby.
Quay room was very good, overlooking the lake. Kindly note that rooms are quite spread-out from reception area. At night it felt little deserted.
Service: Service from the staff was below average otherwise I would have given 5 star for this hotel. Washing machine in the garage was not working during our stay, we had to go another building for the same.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Kia ora,

Thank you for your valued feed back. We are sorry that your service experience at Peppers Clearwater Resort was not that of our usual high standards.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night at this resort as had a function to attend. The room is well appointed but the lighting is terrible and one of the lights over the bed did not work. We usually expect poor lighting overseas but not in NZ so this was really disappointing. There is no underfloor heating in the bathroom and the tiles are freezing. There seemed to be a pump going on and off all night somewhere outside I think (unsure) and this was irritating.
The bed is comfortable and the tiny view we had of the lake was pleasant
Having to pay for wifi is a total rip off. It is included if you purchase breakfast but we did not make that decision until the next morning.
Would we stay here again? Probably not.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron W, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Kia ora,

We are sorry that your experience at Peppers Clearwater Resort was not that of our usual high standards. Please be assured that we will address the issues raised to ensure they are not repeated.

Kind Regards
Aaron Winder
Operations Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Clearwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Clearwater Resort

Address: Clearwater Ave., Harewood, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand (Formerly Outrigger Clearwater Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#21 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#39 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Clearwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Clearwater Resort Christchurch is a stunning waterfront resort set within beautiful grounds. The Hotel is located just a 15-minute drive from the beautiful city of Christchurch. The elegant accommodation is positioned around the clear shimmering lakes and water ways from which Peppers Clearwater Resort gets its name. The modern suites and villas offer guests privacy and comfort, with all the facilities you'd expect from premium resort accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Clearwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Clearwater Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Clearwater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.