We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property But Understaffed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Clearwater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Clearwater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Clearwater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Clearwater Ave., Harewood, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand (Formerly Outrigger Clearwater Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
MUMBAI,INDIA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Great Property But Understaffed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at this property for 1 night on our honeymoon. the rooms and bathrooms are well furnished and do have all the modern facilities. we had booked a lakeview villa and were really impressed with the property at first. as the resort seemed away from the city we decided to cook food in the room, so we called up the reception and asked for microwave bowls. Believe me they told me it will be delivered to me after 20 mins. i waited for 20 mins but nobody turned up. i called them back(they picked up my call after 5 trys) the lady there said she is the only one handling reception house keeping and room service and it would take another 20 mins to get our bowls. she asked us to come to the reception which is far far away from the rooms and pick up the bowls if we needed urgently.. so we had to do that.. If this property was well maintained and serviced i would say this would be one of the best properties of christchurch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Kia ora

It is important that not only guests but staff feel like they have support in place to ensure the services we require of Peppers Clearwater are maintained or exceeded.
We do have systems in place to call for suport when required unfortunatley this did not happen.
We have wonderful staff in the property and do empower them to make decisions based on needs. In this case we have fallen short of the mark and I apologise for this.
Be rest assured we will run staff refresehers emphasising the support structures available.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Regards
Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    82
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
27
114
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Clearwater has been the site for the past NZ Golf open so is a quality course. I was a little concerned about getting a spot but managed to get a place with my brother and father without too much difficulty. The course is just past the airport, about 5-10min on Highway 1, and well sign posted. The condition of the course is fanatstic except for the greens being cored but didnt affect putting too much. We got a reduction as belonging to an Australian Golf Club but not the full affiliation. Staff were friendly and there is a good restaurant and bar overlooking the 18th. The course is very interesting and challenging

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Kia ora,

It's great to see so many passionate golfers taking advantage of the golf course and our facilities.
As weather conditions change so does the course as many professional golfers have experienced over the years. I have also personally donated a number of golf balls to the many lakes on the course and will continune to do so.

Kind regards and good golfing.

Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Apart from the neighbours slamming their doors, then setting off the fire alarm at 1000PM, and being located right under the Christchurch airport flight path, it was a very nice stay.

It is located in a beautiful golf course, with great scenery. The apartment its self was beautiful. Great views, very well finished interior.

Another point to note:
There are quite a few steps that need to be negotiated in order to get to the apartment. No offer of help from hotel staff with our bags.

I still find it hard to believe that paying around $200 per night and not getting any free wifi is a bit rich

The MRS said:
The staff were super friendly. The bath was amazing. Views were georgous. Wifi yet another let down.

Would i stay again? Definitely

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Kia ora

Thank you for your recent patronage at Peppers Clearwater resort . I will certianly pass on your kind comments regarding our "super friendly" staff .
The number of steps to some rooms ,and the offer to assist guests is a part of our reception check in brief but this obviously has not happened I apologise for this and will certainly revisit with the operations team here.

Regards

Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed in a Quay suite. We booked a room here as the last night of our road trip, and having to catch a very early flight home the next day. For this purpose it was very convenient being close to the airport and a relaxing way to finish off our holiday. I would normally not use hotel bath tubs, but this one was very clean and inviting. The room was private and quiet which made a relaxing stay. The only place that we stayed in NZ that had air con in our room (all other 4 and 4 1/2 rated places didn't have air con!).
I would definitely come back for a longer stay.
-GOOD points: Clean, modern, nice room. Nice view of golf course and water. Separate bath and shower. Stylish bathroom. Friendly helpful staff.
-NOT SO GOOD points: The room was a little difficult to find, had to take 2 sets of stairs to get to the room which was the 3rd level of the building, which wasn't pleasant with luggage. Only suitable if you have a car as it is a resort on a golf course and far away from anything.

Room Tip: If lots of stairs isn't going to work for you, mention this when booking a room.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Kia ora

Thank you very much for your kind comments. The building platforms of many of our units are designed to be able to look over the lakes however, as quite rightly pointed out we do have a number of ground floor units which negate the need for stairs.

I wish you all the best and hope you had a great New Year.

Kind regards
Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The resort is around 5 Km from the airport just off Interstate 1 heading North. The resort houses a beautiful golf course with at least two lakes viewable from the club house. On site are several private villas as well as the hotel rooms and suites. Our room (Lake side room) was of a good size with a large double bed (in fact two queen size beds pushed together). The room is equipped with a mini bar fridge, microwave and coffee/tea making facilities. The bathroom was modern housing a separate bath and shower.
Staff were friendly (this is New Zealand after all). Breakfast is served in the restaurant overlooking the golf course. A limited continental and cooked buffet are on offer.
Whilst you can't fault the location and the views, the resort charges 5 star prices for a modest 4 star experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, General Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Kia ora

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay here at Peppers Clearwater. The lake side rooms are large and spacious and are possibly the larget hotel rooms in Christchurch.
You travel time was during our peak or high season which unfortunatley doesn't give us the same flexibility with rates as other perods of the year.
Your comments regarding staff is very pleasing and yes you are right this is the New Zealand way and we are all proud of this.

Once again thank you for your comments .

Regards

Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Christchurch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Arrived to book in to find we had been "upgraded". Stayed in room 2023 which is very tired and in need of refurbishment. A lot of eat damage on the table and coffee cup marks everywhere. Soft furnishings are starting to show there age as well. Nothing that affects the function, it just takes the edge off the ambience.

We got settled in and decided to go for a walk at The Groynes an adjoining recreation area. Happened to meet up with a staff member in a golf cart and asked for directions. She insisted we jump in and she drop us off at the entrance. Lovely customer service like this was found through out except the restaurant.

We did book. We weren't warned beforehand about the large number of conference attendees who would also be dining. We arrived to find no table set ready for us, but were warmly welcomed and assisted with a menu. Then we felt like we had been totally forgotten. It must have been at least 30mins. Then the server appeared again with no apology or excuse at all. She assisted with a wine choice and explained a menu item. Once again a long wait ensued.

I had chosen a "Mediterranean Tian" and a very fancily named side of chips. What I got was a very small, but well dressed rocket salad, and a very small pile of par cooked and under cooked vegetables. I had to separate the uncooked onion as it was indelible, which comprised about 40% of the dish. The chips were just ordinary frozen, unseasoned chip.

When the dish was eventually collected I did mention that I was disappointed in the dish. The server later came back to say the chef was surprised at my disappointment. No suggestion of a change on the bill or an offer of another dish. A very poor dining experience overall. And now this is a part of my Christchurch story.

Room Tip: Ignore the pool and fitness centre review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Kia ora

Thank you for taking the time in completing this review. All feedback is gracefully recieved as this enables us to review our operation and rectify any shortfalls that we have. The property was programmed for a refurbishment 16 months ago. Until such time that earth quake works are completed this program is now on hold. In terms of the issues you mentioned in the restaurant I apologise for these shortfallings and assure you the F&B manager is currently reviewing the operations in this area to see how best we can streamiline service here.
Once again thank you for your comments and wish you all the best for Christmas and the New Year.

Kind regards
Ken Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice room although I must confess when I arrived I did find that trying to locate reception was tricky.. No trouble if I was a golfer the golf shop very well signed...the stairs are tricky if you have full suitcases as there is no help for bags, I wouldn't stay again, as the place was recommended as a "luxury" style accommodation , but really it wasn't close to anything and really didn't offer me anything Over and beyond a normal room... Even the lack of a dining experience, as they has some big function... Not sure about breakfasts, we didn't stay long enough to find out. I did expect more, my mistake.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Manager at Peppers Clearwater Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Kia ora

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Peppers Clearwater resort.
Your point regarding stair access is very valid. The location of our units "lake facing" requires the building platform to be raised.
We do provide assistance with luggage however in this case it is obvious this did not occur . Please accept my apology for this oversight.

Once again thank you for comments .

Kind regards
Ken Harris
General Manager
Peppers Clearwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Clearwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Clearwater Resort

Address: Clearwater Ave., Harewood, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand (Formerly Outrigger Clearwater Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#20 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#46 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Clearwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7 minutes from Christchurch airport, Peppers Clearwater Resort is the perfect place to gaze out over the surrounding lakes and the mountains standing tall in the background. Accommodation includes hotel rooms, suites and apartments with all the amenities expected of Peppers, while on-site activities include tennis, fly fishing, a game of golf on the championship PGA course, and walking/jogging tracks. Enjoy uncomplicated and flavoursome food prepared with passion by the award winning team at The Lake Restaurant, overlooking the lake and fairway. Dinner bookings until 9pm daily. All rooms have wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Peppers Clearwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Clearwater Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Clearwater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.