We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Elms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Elms to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Elms
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   456 Papanui Rd, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
1 review
“Appalling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

After staying in this hotel I wouldn't recommend it to anyone it is old dowdy and the inside looks more like an institution than a hotel. When booking we were told that the room included breakfast so went down for a continental breakfast which was very limited and the girl was obviously trying to rush us out so she could pack up even though we were within their advertised times. We had two pieces of toast and an orange juice each and it cost $33.00. In the bathroom which has no ventilation the two toilet roll holders are both hanging off the wall and the hooks behind the doors are both unusable there is no maintenance yet they are happy to charge higher rates along with other better quality places, very poor. We were woken at 4.00am the second morning by a couple of staff members talking and laughing quite loudly out side the reception area which is currently located in a temporary office in the driveway, obviously no care for their customers. All of this is blamed on the earthquake but it appears that this is the excuse for poor management!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    34
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
26
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Difficult report to write under circumstances.

Hotel situated a few miles out of Christchurch City Centre but bus stop virtually outside with regular service even on Sundays to city centre. Large shopping centre about 10 minutes walk from hotel. Number of eating places close by and at the shopping centre.

Hotel still recovering from aftermath of Earthquake of 2011. Reception area and restaurant & Bar still under construction hence temporary container office in the car park and temporary dinning room on 3rd floor. Scaffolding on one side of building.

Admire fortitude of staff under these circumstances.

Unfortunately the rooms are basic and tired and need refurbishment. Did not understand the Black net curtains. I know this might be difficult under present circumstances. Could do with a room safe when done. My room was opposite the temporary dinning room on the 3rd floor, unfortunately was awaken around 0530 with hotel staff preparing the room for breakfast.

Reception staff very helpful, could not get on to the FREE internet due to chinese tourists leaving all in chinese. They let me use their PC in the office so I could read my emails. Thank you.

Hope the new reception area and restaurant are completed on time so the hotel can get back to normal and wish them the very best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our stay coincided with a major refurbishment which provided for in house entertainment from the workers on scaffolding outside the window - we had a nice chat. The place was a shambles but at the end of the day we had a good sleep. Very handy to the mall and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights on business. I got a bit of a shock to see the hotel exterior covered in scaffolding and a work site at the front where I am guessing the new restaurant is being built. If you are here during the day you will hear drilling and banging.
The rooms have everything I needed and were tidy and clean. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is available (continental only) but I chose not to eat here.
There are plenty of takeaways nearby for dinner.
I spent 2 hours in the middle of the night awake listening to a Chinese tour party yelling in the hallways. Also the walls are very thin so I could hear them all toileting as well. Not a good nights sleep but this wasn't the hotels fault. Bed was comfy though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed one night in October 2012.
The only plus was the place was quiet.
I will never stay again for two reasons:
1: the bathroom was dirty. Eg multiple long black hairs in the shower, on wall and in bathtub, plus blood on the toilet seat!
2: Lack of emergency evacuation procedures when there was a small fire in a 2nd floor room. The hotel didn't call the fire service and rellied on the fire alarm technician to determine the fire out and safe.

I will sleep in a bus shelter before I stay at the Elms again.

If you found this review helpful, please vote.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently. The reception is still operating from a shipping container while the reception, restaurant and bar are being completely rebuilt after the earthquakes. The room are clean and perfectly adequate. There is a temporary breakfast room on the 3rd floor. I did think they might have updated their in room information with what to do in the event of another big earthquake, there was no mention of that. Also we didn't appreciate having the Auckland women's rugby team in rooms all around us, partying all night & knocking on our door at 3am!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have been frequent to the ELMS Hotel even before the Earthquake.
Eventhough the main reception area is now operating from a make shift shipping container outside the parking area, The Elms has pull through its resources and kept the business going despite the damage to the earhquake city - with no let down of Customer service and comfort.
Personally the only problem I have encountered so far is that their Bar & Restaraunt has been closed for sometime and I hope they will be able open it again soon.
The Hotel location is perfect - walking distance to almost all emnities and everything you would ever need.

Room Tip: Papanui where ELMS is located is a another suburb on its own. It is approx. 15 minutes away to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Elms

Address: 456 Papanui Rd, Christchurch 8005, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Elms 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Elms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elms Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Elms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.