We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel with all the mod-cons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colombo in the City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Colombo in the City to your Saves list
Colombo in the City
5.0 of 5 Motel   |   863 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great motel with all the mod-cons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed here in February 2011 just before the earthquake. Along with on the trip was my mother-in-law and husband. We stayed for one night and had a great studio. Downstairs was the sitting room, bathroom and bed for Mum and upstairs was a lovely double bedroom. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. The motel is in a great location and within walking distance of the shops and the main centre. We would stay here again if we were back in Christchurch. Our hosts were extremely welcoming and made us feel as home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    41
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
87
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in this hotel through June 2011, the rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable, and the room had plenty of facilities, even wi fi! Everything in the room was up to date and the rooms where always cleaned to a very high standard.
We got stuck in Christchurch due to the ash cloud and the owners were so helpful and accommodating. They always helped us out with things to do and see around Christchurch, they were very personable and always made us feel welcome. We have absolutely no complaints to say about this establishment and will defiantly return on our next visit to Christchurch!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The motel was extremely neat and clean. I had quite a big room with a decent sized bathroom. Everything looked really nice and it was not effected by the earthquake.
Staff was extremely helpful! I would definitely recommend staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

As mentioned in other recent reviews there have been no problems here despite the earthquakes. We stayed in room 809 as per last time (which was before I started writing reviews here) as it has a spa bath. $155 for the spa unit but worth it...

Lots of towels.
Heated towel rail.
Makeup remover (towellette in sachets).
Spa bath is rectangle (not corner) but deep and wide and quite a few jet outlets.
Two hotplates, microwave, and fridge.
Lots of tea (3 or 4 varieties) and coffee supplies incl two serves of plunger coffee - and of course a plunger.
CD player and DVD player.
Little biscuits and mints.
Two big comfy chairs as well as two small chairs.

The only bit that was average was that something about the bed didn't quite work for me. There's a bit of a ridge down the middle, probably one of those two singles joined together sort of thing. So sleep could have been better but wasn't bad either.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

The motel was comfortable, modern, welcoming and all the wonderful things previous guests have said about it, even under such trying circumstances. The earthquake cleanup seems to be progressing in a very orderly manner and more of the city is being opened up all the time. Unless the central city was all you wanted to see in Christchurch, it is still worth a visit. Most attractions are open.

When we decided to keep our reservations (made before the quake) in Christchurch, we weren't sure what to expect. I didn't realize that Colombo in the City was so close to the cordoned off area (at the end of the block, but that is expected to change). Over half of the buildings on the block are condemned. However, the motel had no damage and is operating as normal. There is a mix of tourists and people involved with the earthquake efforts staying there now. I wasn't sure how welcomed tourists would be, but we were very welcomed. I think the residents appreciate a little normalcy.

The only thing I didn't like was that there were two outdoor tables outside our room and other guests would use them for smoking, so we had to keep our windows closed. Also had to walk through smoke residue to go in/out of the room.

We had a 2-story room and it was difficult to get large suitcases up the narrow stairs to the bedroom (we just left them in the living area). We found the breakfast delivery to be a terrific convenience. We had the continental, and the bread was the best we had in New Zealand.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the smoking tables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Weeks after the devestating earthquake of fabruary 2011 we've stayed here. This place has received a green sticker and is considered safe, unlike most accomodation nearby it nearly suffered no damage. Downtown Christchurch was still closed down, just the next intersection actually.

The hotel/motel is rated with 5 star Qualmark but as 'Self Contained & Serviced'. Rooms are fine, there is a kitchen (though the extractor hood was not connected so the room keeps smelling for some time after cooking dinner) and whirlpool (jet bathtub). All very nice and working at the time we were there. Many stores/restaurants/activities are cancelled, closed and/or destroyed and it is a very sad sight to walk though wat is left of Christchurch. Yet we've had a great stay and the owners were very friendly and helpful in all ways.

We've also experienced one of the bigger aftershocks (5.1 Richter) and the hostess came asking us if we were OK. She showed us the best places to eat and shop.

A great place to stay in Christchurch!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Colombo in the City is a meticulously maintained property supported by fastidious housekeeping. The service is top class. During my stay a strong after shake was experienced one evening. Five minutes after this experience Mine Host called at every apartment to ensure all her guests felt secure, safe and confident - THAT'S SERVICE!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colombo in the City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo in the City

Address: 863 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#11 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#12 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Colombo in the City 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell & Henri Stevens welcome you to Colombo in the City Christchurch Motel and Apartments, Christchurch. This quiet, modern and luxurious 5 star complex is centrally situated in the Garden City. Colombo in the City is the ultimate place to stay, extremely close to Christchurch Convention Centre, the Town Hall and Casino. Only a few minutes walk to Cathedral Square the hub of this vibrant and beautiful city which offers fantastic attractions, excellent shopping and quality restaurants and cafes. You will be spoiled for choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colombo in the City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombo In The City Hotel Christchurch
Colombo In The City Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colombo in the City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.