We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Kilmore & Montreal Sts, Cranmer Square | *** currently closed ***, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

The hotel apartment is clean, bright and airy. Fully kitchen facilities and strategic location. The apartment/suite makes you feel like home.
The staffs are friendly and polite, especially 'Alice' ( hope I spell her name correctly).
Highly recommended for family traveling with young children.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
21
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taupo
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

As with other reviewers, we have been really impressed with the location and spacious room style of this apartment block. We have walked round Hagley Park and Gardens,being only 50 metres or so away and had some success at the casino which is 2 min. away around the corner.
The Town Hall and Cathedral Square and Shops are a 5 min walk away.
The units have separate kitchen, living room and the unit we have been in on the third floor faced west and we had lovely sunny afternoon/evenings looking toward the Park.
The staff are possibly the best we have experienced in terms of friendliness and service and Mark the Manager has a sharp pencil which provided a rate well below the T.A. advised rate but we dont want to be specific as we want to come back here at the same rate later this year.
For a homely,friendly base to explore Chch you wont beat this for value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Having just come back from another visit to Christchurch and a retiurn to Chateau Blanc Suites we were not disappointed. This Aparthotel gives you greater flexibility and is much more homely than a hotel, having fully serviced spacious apartments with a lounge and fully appointed kitchen area, to give you a self catering option if required, seperate bedroom, bathroom and a large balcony. The staff are very friendly and helpful while the other amenities include a guest laundry, free internet and secure parking.
The location is ideal being local to many cafes, restaurants, Arts Centre, Art Gallery, Hagley Park and is only a ten minute walk to the city centre.
We will certainly be back on our next visit to Christchurch and would have no hesitation recommending Chateau Blanc Suites.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, NZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

I've stayed here several times now for a regular business meeting. They are always friendly, welcoming and leave you to get on with business and relaxing without interference. Rooms are spacious and pleasant, beds comfortable, staff helpful and accommodating. They seem happy to work there too!
Self catering with decent provision of cooking utensils and appliances. Close to the city (reasonable walking distance) without being noisy.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

This is a much better option than a hotel stay but I will agree with a previous reviewer who said the rooms were dated. It was just a tad 80's looking and a bit tired.

Good points - brilliant location. Rooms are a good size and really decent size balconies.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

I'd still recommend it to friends but with the above points made clear.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights, family of 2 & 15 year old. Great little spot in the city centre opposite the Avon River. This was one of the reasons I chose it. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to square. It did not disappoint and was roomy enough for 3, with seperate bed in lounge for my daughter. I agree with the others aboout the furnishings being dated but represents great value for money as we paid $130 per night for 3 via their own website. Would highly recommend them.

  • Liked — convenience to everything airport 10-15 minute drive
  • Disliked — furnishings bit dated
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

We stayed at this hotel (in a 1br apartment) at the end of a 10 day holiday in South Island. We were weary from campervan travel and needed to place to relax prior to coming home. We found this hotel to be well located and great value for money, but we do warn travellers to expect a dated appearance, especially in the lounge suite. It was very old and we sunk into it because it had very little support under the seats.

Overall,
Pluses are:
Good proximity to the city centre
Very large rooms
Nice, friendly staff
Free internet access from a computer located near reception
Large balcony
Double glazed windows in bedroom
Value for money

Minuses are:
Located on a busy corner that gets a fair amount of traffic noise, even through the double glazed bedroom windows
No bath - shower only
Dated appearance of rooms, furmiture and kitchen stove
Musty smell throughout room
Very small lift

I wouldn't let the minuses put you off booking this hotel. Overall, I think the bottom line is that you get very good value for money at this hotel.

  • Liked — spacious rooms, value
  • Disliked — traffic noise, no bath
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites

Address: Cnr Kilmore & Montreal Sts, Cranmer Square | *** currently closed ***, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For overnight or long term accommodation in central Christchurch, you'll find Chateau Blanc Suites Apartment Hotel offers the best of everything. Each of our 38 fully-serviced apartments and penthouses provides spacious accommodation with a separate lounge, bedroom, bathroom and European-style kitchen with full facilities. There is a restaurant located on the ground floor which opens for breakfast daily. Seven of Christchurch's excellent restaurants and bars are within 150 metres of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Christchurch
Clarion Chateau Blanc Hotel
Clarion Christchurch
Christchurch Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.