We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms but be prepared for dated appearance and furniture” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Kilmore & Montreal Sts, Cranmer Square | *** currently closed ***, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Large rooms but be prepared for dated appearance and furniture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

We stayed at this hotel (in a 1br apartment) at the end of a 10 day holiday in South Island. We were weary from campervan travel and needed to place to relax prior to coming home. We found this hotel to be well located and great value for money, but we do warn travellers to expect a dated appearance, especially in the lounge suite. It was very old and we sunk into it because it had very little support under the seats.

Overall,
Pluses are:
Good proximity to the city centre
Very large rooms
Nice, friendly staff
Free internet access from a computer located near reception
Large balcony
Double glazed windows in bedroom
Value for money

Minuses are:
Located on a busy corner that gets a fair amount of traffic noise, even through the double glazed bedroom windows
No bath - shower only
Dated appearance of rooms, furmiture and kitchen stove
Musty smell throughout room
Very small lift

I wouldn't let the minuses put you off booking this hotel. Overall, I think the bottom line is that you get very good value for money at this hotel.

  • Liked — spacious rooms, value
  • Disliked — traffic noise, no bath
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
21
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

Pleasantly surprised with size of the one bedroom apartment with seperate lounge/dining area. Very well appointed with everything we needed. Spacious and bright, affordable, great friendly staff, scrumptious breakfast, free internet access, free parking,10 minute walk to Cathedral Square. Why would you stay in a tiny hotel room when you can strech out in this great little establishment?

  • Liked — Spacious comfortable appartment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

After a long flight from the UK we wanted somewhere self-catering where we could sleep any time and be within easy walking distance of the centre. Chateau Blanc was great - spacious, comfortable, well-equipped, and nice and quiet, if slightly old-fashioned. It's a few minutes' walk from the art gallery, tram line, etc. Reasonably priced too (although we were there off-season) and friendly staff. Free internet. Highly recommended if you want a quiet, well-equipped bolt-hole.

  • Liked — Spacious suite
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

Stayed one night in March 08 whilst travelling with another couple. Upon arrival, found that the four of us had been upgraded to the pent house. As none of us have ever been lucky enough to experience this in the past, the sight of four seniors romping around like children was a sight to behold. The penthouse was just lovely, very very spacious, we were able to cook a BBQ on the balcony, set up the lovely dining table, and really enjoyed our one night. Which we had been staying late. We were also welcomed with a fruit basket and wine, as we would be leaving before breakfast in the morning. The staff at this hotel were lovely, very knowledgeable and helpfull. Booking cabs, etc.
The hotel is within walking distance of casino and all sights and restaurants.

  • Liked — Everything, but mainly the upgrade
  • Disliked — Only having one night!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

Excellent rooms and staff. Stayed 4 nights in March 2008
with my family of 4. A nice private room for the parents and
two twin beds for my teenagers. Very clean, big, kitchen,
good view. It was nice to be able to cook after traveling for
so long. The room was big, balcony in front. Staff was excellent,
always friendly, gave us good tips on what to see. Had an delicious breakfast cooked to order by the friendly staff. Felt like a 4 star restaurant. Used the BBQ for dinner and they offer seasoning for our meat and utensils. Good size bathroom
and the whole place is very updated and seem new. Highly
recommended this place. Free internet 24/7, this was good because my college kids had to register for classes at 5am. and
all the internet cafe were closed. Walked to downtown area,
Rented a car and we went bungy jump, hot natural springs, wine tasting (the staff recommended good wineries) . You
have to stay here when you come to Chirstchurch. 5 star hotel!

  • Liked — Excellent room, staff, food, location 5 star hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

Stayed for 4 nights at the end of February as we were attending a wedding in the area.

Was a perfect location and the rooms were very clean, with lots of storage for all our bags. Our room had a kitchenette which was perfect for breakfast as we ate out most nights.

We had a room overlooking the back garden so was nice and quiet. The balcony was great for afternoon drinks in the sun.

Staff on reception were very helpful and the free internet is a first i have seen at any hotel!

Value for money and also great to walk into town (10-15 min walk)

  • Liked — Large lounge and free internet
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

Centrally located, spacious and clean. There was a very basic kitchenette which was enough to prepare a rudimentary meal. Some noise from the adjacent road, though nothing too much.

I was pleasantly surprised at just how big the appartment was - the name says it all, not just a room. Do ask for a room with a view of the park, some overlook a rather drab carpark.

There is an evening shuttle bus to a local supermarket.

Christchurch city centre is a pleasant stroll away though parks and wide pavements. Christchurch is sometimes described as being like 1950's England - this is absolutely NOT the case. People do not drive around in Morris Minors, the men do not wear trilby hats, and there was no food rationing that I was aware of.

On the other hand, it is nicely laid out with many pleaant eateries. By all means spare an hour for the botanic gardens, especially the Rose Garden (if visiting outside of the winter).

  • Liked — Large room, amenities
  • Disliked — Kitchen too basic
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites

Address: Cnr Kilmore & Montreal Sts, Cranmer Square | *** currently closed ***, Christchurch 8144, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For overnight or long term accommodation in central Christchurch, you'll find Chateau Blanc Suites Apartment Hotel offers the best of everything. Each of our 38 fully-serviced apartments and penthouses provides spacious accommodation with a separate lounge, bedroom, bathroom and European-style kitchen with full facilities. There is a restaurant located on the ground floor which opens for breakfast daily. Seven of Christchurch's excellent restaurants and bars are within 150 metres of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Christchurch
Clarion Chateau Blanc Hotel
Clarion Christchurch
Christchurch Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Chateau Blanc Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.