We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee and pancakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hummingbird Coffee Cafe

Hummingbird Coffee Cafe
Re:start Mall, Cashel St | Christchurch, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great coffee and pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

GO where the people are!!! This place was buzzing! Good coffee and delicious pancakes. Would definitely recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Go there for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you are over hotel breakfasts or just wandering the CBD, go to Hummingbird Coffee for a great breakfast and even better coffee. The staff are really friendly and the baristas (all of them) are on top of their game. We visited several times over the weekend and the coffee was consistently good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Wicked coffee and scones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Located in the cool Re:START are in Christchurch city these guys were super busy pumping out great coffee. We also had a pinwheel scone and a savoury scone, also very good. Nice vibe too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wow what a breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

On a recent month long trip to NZ we started off in Christchurch. After a long sleep we set off on the bus to find somewhere for breakfast.

What a find the Hummingbird was. I had the muesli and hubby had cooked with great coffee.

It was so good we went back for lunch.

The staff were friendly and helpful even though they were very busy. We sat outside and were pleased to support a business trying to recover after the earthquake. We were shocked to see the devastation first hand.

Shame on the insurance companies who still haven't settled some of the claims!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummingbird Coffee Cafe also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hummingbird Coffee Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hummingbird Coffee Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.