We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pomeroy's Old Brewery Inn

Pomeroy's Old Brewery Inn
292 Kilmore St, Christchurch, New Zealand
03-3651523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 583 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I dine out a lot and go to a wide range of restaurants in Christchurch and all over New Zealand .
Pomeroys for me is the best consistent quality food and service in Christchurch. The staff care about there work place and do an amazing job. I think Pomeroys is one of those "City Gems" . The wine list is good fantastic range of beer , for me its about the range of food and its well priced , the owner is always making improvements and has put a big effort into the historic building and the out door areas.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    35
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lots of craft beers & great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The 'ye olde English pub' thing is neither here nor there for me, but this pub has 31 craft beers on tap and the food is great too. I recommend the lamb ragout.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pork crackling!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This pub serves pork crackling on a plate as nibbles, how fantastic is that! Great selection of craft beers, good atmosphere and the food is over and beyond average for pub food, highly recommend everyone to pay a visit to this little gem in Christchurch :-)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great old English style Pub, fine Ale's and fantastic food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Pomeroy’s

I have been here a few times now, both for their fine Ales and to enjoy a meal.
I have never yet been disappointed!

The style of the place is one of an old English pub, and this is done very well indeed. No faux beams, staged antiques or whatever, unlike so many of the “themed” pubs that seem to have sprung up over the last few years. The place is genuinely “old”, and you don’t feel that the cast of Eastenders are outside having their stage makeup applied ready to rush in with a “Cor blimey, what’s up Guv”… nope, the place is just not cheesy.

I have to say I am a fan of good Ale, and which is served at the correct temperature. I have a dislike for freezing cold lager beers which unfortunately seems to pass for Ale these days! Anyway, Pomeroy’s always have on hand (or hand pump), a great selection of fine Ale, including guest beers, all of which are far far better than the chilled pressurized p**s that 99% of other pubs sell exclusively.

As for the food, well, it is good fare indeed, which is a good thing. It would be a shame to serve great Ale and have the food let the side down. On the contrary, the food is as good as the Ale, indeed they compliment each other. The last meal I had was their Spicy Pulled Poke sandwich. My God, it was so tasty, and unbelievably filling, and yes, I can eat! I would say that if you are even considering being on a diet, DON’T order this. It has about 100 trillion mega-joules of stored energy. It is dripping in juicy succulence, literally. If harnessed, the energy from this “meal” would be enough to power the grid that feeds the whole of Christchurch city for a day… at least! That said, I’m sure its no worse than going out for a Pizza, except it is one of, if not THE most enjoyable hot meat sandwiches you will ever have in your life. WOW. This washed down with a pint of Cassels Best Bitter….. heaven!

As I don’t live close by, I’m planning to stay over one evening in one of Pomeroy’s guest rooms, as a romantic getaway treat for me and my wife (I’m sure she will see my ploy here), and of course driving home wont be an issue… (yeah, I’m sure it will be obvious to her). When this happens I will write up the report for TA… by which I mean the room etc, nothing else!

Downsides to Pomeroys, well not many. Okay the Ales are not cheap, but they are so far ahead of the usual stuff that its not a fair comparison to make. One thing however, is that Pomeroy’s opening hours are a bit strange, and also the kitchen isn’t always open for meals even when the pub itself might be open. However, the quality of their food reflects that of a superbly run kitchen and staffed by professionals who know what they are doing. I’m supposing that they don’t have a rotational three shift crew of “burger flippers”, but instead have quality Chef’s who on their days off may be seen scouring the countryside for fresh ingredients or walking their Truffle pigs through forests of Old English Oaks in search of black gold…… anyway, that’s what I like to think.

So, if you like great Ale or want to impress a client maybe (or take the wife for a romantic getaway… to a Pub), give Pomeroy’s a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Love this place, so cosy with an awesome menu, huge drinks selection and super friendly staff. Fond memories of coming in one day and the owner was handing around a huge platter of fresh bread and cheese to everyone - such a nice touch!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomeroy's Old Brewery Inn also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Pomeroy's Old Brewery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomeroy's Old Brewery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.