We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favourite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milieu

Milieu
112 Wrights Road | Addington, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
03 962 9629
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 582 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Milieu is definitely a great place to meet and have coffee. The atmosphere is warm and inviting and best of all, the floor is carpeted which makes for a quieter cafe. Not the usual noise of dragging chairs and having to yell when trying to have a quiet discussion. Very friendly staff and the coffee is always great. The only let down would be the price of the cabinet food. Way too expensive and sadly this is becoming the norm for cafes. Otherwise a lovely place to be.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sweet Treat & Chat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Catching up with a friend 1pm on a weekday we chose Milieu as it used to be a favourite after work on a Friday. No longer as we are in different jobs at different locations now. My only bugbear and probably would be prevent me from lunching there again was the PARKING!!! or lack of it. Very difficult to find a park and a very busy road . . . even found a Wilsons Carpark only $4 for the day but had no small change and had to walk about 1km to get to the café so after searching desperately for small change thought I'd take another chance at getting a park. Ended up parking half on the footpath - not good, but no ticket!
The café was almost full, delicious food was on display, service was prompt, everything looked clean and sparkling! I had a delicious creamy cheesecake as I'd already eaten an early lunch. My friend ate every bit of her pumpkin quiche. Would go again if I had an early 11.30 appointment as I figure I'd have more of a chance to get a park then. The food certainly looks worth going back for . . .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous family lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a wee gem of a cafe/restaurant. Our party of 6 enjoyed a quality lunch and excellent service on a busy day when the cafe was full and the queue almost out the door. Everyone enjoyed their meals ordered off the menu, food was well presented, beautifully cooked and there was plenty of it. Staff were friendly and seemingly unflappable. Was a special family occasion topped off with a great lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Coffee with hmmmm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Superb coffee. Head and shoulder above any cafés around town. Food is also good but the cabinet food price is a bit over priced. Menu food is fair priced and good value. We were a bit surprised that we were not allowed to order breakfast at 11:40am.

Coffee is so good That's how I will remember the place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden Gem: Best coffee in Chch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

One of the best, if not the best, coffee in Christchurch. Aromatic and tasty coffee. Complimented with different coffee arts for different coffee (can't stand mass production style - same art for all coffee )

Lunch - salmon, served with gourmet mashed potato, was good portion and fine taste. Corn puff with salad was well balanced favour.

Indoor outdoor atmosphere was inviting. Little oasis in a boring commercial and industrial area

This could well become our regular place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milieu also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Milieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.