We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The morning coffee and bagel stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Procope Coffee House

Procope Coffee House
205 Fendalton Rd, Christchurch, New Zealand
+64 3-351 1488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 583 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Café, New Zealand, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Procope is an iconic Christchurch cafe. We are now in a new building on Fendalton Rd (on the way to the airport from the city). Our coffee is roasted locally at Hummingbird and we have 6 varieties to take home. We have a range of cabinet food which changes daily as well as a breakfast and lunch menu. We are licensed with a focus on local beer, cider and wine.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The morning coffee and bagel stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Drop by here often in the morning before work to get a coffee and share a pumpkin seed bagel with the works (tomato pesto cream cheese). Love the decor, theres been a new round of staff lately maybe to do with the opening in Victoria street but coffee is always really good and the breakfast is amazing.. hollandaise is amazing with the mushrooms and spinach, and the french toast with black doris plums is delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“What a lovely place to dine. The new cafe in Victoria street is awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Great service with friendly staff and the eggs Benedict were excellent. My kids enjoyed the brownie melt in your mouth.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A lot of room for improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Where does one begin? Burnt milk, over extracted coffee, indifferent (lazy) service. I don't understand cafés that can't get coffee right. It's not a challenging thing to do, and even if you do mess it up, surely you know to not send it out.

The food, here I was hoping for redemption, I mean how can one mess up a ham and cheese croissant? Apparently rather easily at this place. Charred on the outside fridge cold on the inside.

I'd avoid this place at all costs

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast - Pleasant Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a modern cafe with cabinet food and also a great breakfast and lunch menu. I had Eggs Benedict which was the best I have had for some time. One person had Mushroom scramble Egg with gluten free bread. The other had the Banana and Bacon Panckes. They were all very happy with their breakfast. Everyone left feeling very full. Very good coffee. Excellent service.

Go upstairs - very roomy and sunny with a bit of a view. The sun streamed in. There were blinds that took care of the glare. This looks very new and fresh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Have been here few times and each time have had great coffee. The baristas know what they are doing and it shows! Our last visit however, we came for lunch and although they have a great selection of cabinet food, I again had the beautiful middle eastern lamb salad. It is surely the pomegranate dressing that really make this and it is a divine marriage of texture and taste. As always, great service and great taste. Plenty of space, with seating upstairs and downstairs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Procope Coffee House also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Procope Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Procope Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.