We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, Well Priced, Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Container

Thai Container
151 Bealey Ave | Corner of Bealey & Caledonian Rd, Christchurch, New Zealand
+64 21 139 4881
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 658 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night Food, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: We are a relocated restaurant from the city due to the earthquakes. After the Earthquakes we managed to start up again this time as a takeaway with outdoor seating and making great use of a 40ft container which we converted to a 40ft Kitchen, Our Chefs are still serving restaurant quality food, at takeaway prices. We have a busy little spot so wait times can average between 5-15mins for your meal , txt orders are a good way to go on a wet day ... We look forward to seeing you here. Just remember when placing feedback ..If you have had a problem let us know straight away so we can resolve it, it's hard to be given a opportunity to fix things if you don't tell us.
Dunsborough, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Unique, Well Priced, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Much of downtown Wellington is still in a post-devastated state, and the unique pop-up shopping mall is made of shipping containers, arranged funkily and creatively.

I should have twigged that the Thai Container would be in some way related to this thinking. Whether it was created as a result of the earthquake, or simply a copy, I do not know, but what a great concept. Sitting on an otherwise vacant block just a kilometre or so north of the CBD, one orders from a caravan, alongside of which is the “cooking container”. Apparently 4 Thai chefs work inside.
The menu is as you would expect from a “normal” Thai take-away. The service is excellent and the food of an exceptional quality. We took our meal back to our motel, but many people were sitting on the various outdoor settings available.

Great concept. Well-deserved of its high TA rating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, Owner at Thai Container, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your support here in Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    51
    21
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Best Thai in NZ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

While there is no ambiance on picnic tables this busy street corner do yourself a favor and take meal back to hotel. During four day stay in Christchurch we enjoyed the "Container" food twice and after a month in NZ we both agree it was by far the best Thai or Asian cuisine we have enjoyed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tastiest Thai in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Thought I would try the place based on internet reviews and wasn't disappointed. The food is absolutely delicious and at a reasonable price. Not excessive amounts of meat but plenty of fresh tasty and healthy veges that I don't mind at all. How the chefs get so much flavour into the curries is beyond me and I can't wait to get back to chch and return to thai container! Overall an innovative venture and the Facebook giveaways only add to the excitement!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Hmmmm, not sure about the 'food ok, staff unfriendly' comment but hey each to their own. For my two cent worth, the food is pretty amazing, best in town, and as for the small portions (???) chicken green curry lasted me two mains meals!. Staff unfriendly (!) again not a problem I've encountered, rather the opposite in my humble opinion. My personal fav's fresh chicken spring rolls, the dipping sauce is great and chicken satay kebabs, the green curry is pretty amazing too! I ordered recently for a team lunch (about 8-10) and not a single complaint from anyone. Compliments to the chef all round!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, Owner at Thai Container, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We love you all, and without your continued support we would'nt be here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Thai ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Thank goodness we live close by as we have to get our Thai hit nearly weekly. Food is always delicious and love that you can text in your order. Please please don't leave the area when you rebuild actually I love the container and caravan concept it's so quirky be great to see it stay for ever / sorry poor staff who must be working in very cramped conditions you do a brilliant job.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene B, Owner at Thai Container, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you Sue, we will never leave you , and our staff thank you for your support , they put up with the cramped conditions only because they look forward to seeing you and your smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Container also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Thai Container? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Container, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.