We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for an early flight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport to your Saves list
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location for an early flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

It is great if you need to be at the airport early in the morning. Although the decor of the hotel is a little old fashioned, the rooms were comfortable, clean and the staff were friendly. They have an efficient free shuttle to the airport terminals. I would recommend this over staying at a nearby motel and having to get a taxi in the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    253
    213
    75
    32
See reviews for
91
292
59
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

I had a very nice, large, quiet room overlooking the courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Very surprised by how good this was. Close to airport. Food is much better than expected. Bit of a problem with some of staff but not all. Do not be put off by this. well worth staying.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We flew in late to Christchurch (midnight) and were starting our driving thrip the next morning, so this hotel was extremly convenient. It suited it's purpose of a good place to sleep for the night for that reason. The shuttle to and from the airport was quick and easy - they were there to pick us up two minutes after we called from the courtesy phone at the aiprort and were quick to drop us back off to pick up our rental car. If you want to experience what Christchurch has to offer, stay downtown at another hotel - but if just passing through, location and value are to good to pass up.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Quite basic hotel ,which can be quite noisy if you have a room next to the washing machines!!
Only hotel we had to pay for on arrival as well - usually pay when you leave.
Clean and comfy though and only a stone's throw to the airport .
Next to Antarctic centre as well .

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed here before leaving NZ as our flight left at 6.30 am (so 4.30 am check-in). The hotel itself is nothing special, but it is clean and quite comfortable, and reasonable rates, especially as airport hotels tend to be overpriced - this one isn't.

We had dinner in the restaurant, and it was quite good - much better than we had expected.

The hotel operates a 24 hour shuttle to the airport, which brought us to departures in about 5 minutes. Great option if you have to catch an early flight - much more practical than trying to arrange a taxi at that hour from downtown Christchurch (I assume).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Like others, I stayed here for early morning flight. I booked as mystery hotel on wotif.com for $99. I received a room facing the Antarctic Center on the older hall (still uses old keys, carpeting in hallway worn). During the day, the vehicles at the Antarctic Center rumbled by, but I arrived just 15 minutes before the Center closed, so not a problem. Room was clean; bed was comfortable. I walked from the airport to the hotel and took the shuttle back.

Strange that the hallway cuts right through between the kitchen and restaurant, so no privacy in restaurant.

I did overhear a family arguing at the desk about a family room. They thought they had clarified through their travel agent and call to the hotel that they were getting adjoining rooms, but it sounded as if they were getting one room for 6 people. They were not happy. Not sure how it turned out.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.