We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport to your Saves list
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here last night as we had an early flight out this morning. We arrived thinking it would be the most basic of Hotels as is expected with a lot of airport places. I have to say that even with my high standards in regards to service, we were extremely impressed. The staff were lovely on arrival and even proactively suggested the time etc for a wake up call for our flight. Then we had dinner in the restaurant, which again considering my high standards was a great surprise as well, those pea and haloumi fritters were awesome! Really big, clean room and great shower, and the shuttle was there in about 30 seconds from asking for it this morning. Sudima, you could really teach other more highly rated hotels some great lessons in service and value. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    252
    213
    75
    32
See reviews for
90
291
59
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel appears to has unfairly taken advantage of the lack of accommodation post earthquake. Refurbishing is underway. Rooms are Ok but very dated , there are a lot of bus trips stopping over . The Bar area and dining spills to the Foyer.
The breakfast is way too expensive and not nice. Mass produced ,boiled ham everything tastes the same.
Agree 2star at 4 star prices.

Room Tip: Go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our flight into Christchurch was to arrive at midnight so we asked the travel agent to find accommodation close to the airport. A room for our family of three adults was booked at the Sudima for $210.00 Australian dollars. What a disappointment this place turned out to be! The nice-looking reception area gives a false impression to cover up the poor conditions of the rooms out back. The room was small with old carpet, furnishings and fittings. Worst of all, it was a warm February (summer in southern hemisphere) night but the heater in the room was running on 'high' probably all day until we switched it off. There was no air conditioner, so we opened the window to the noise and bugs but because there is no cross ventilation there still was no air movement. A report was made to the front desk but there was no offer of a different room. At last a fan was found and still covered with dust was delivered to our room. What a hellish hot night that was!

Since then I have discovered that this hotel is being refurbished and there is a new section. It appears that the rates are the same. How unfair. Had it not been so late (1:30 am) at night and we weren't so tired we would have insisted on a room change. In the morning while waiting for the delivery of our hire car, I heard another couple telling someone how awful their room was for what they were charged.

We have been to Christchurch a number of times since 2009. While the earthquake and re-construction has resulted in a shortage of accommodation, there are still many really good places available for less than $150 a night per double. One place we have stayed three times is $120.00 per night for three adults and it is every bit as good as the room we had at the Sudima, $90.00 cheaper and we are treated much better.

Room Tip: Make certain you know what you're getting before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallivare, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is under renovation. We got a new room that was very good. But we could see that part of the hotell was old and rough. Ask for a new room and you will be very pleased. 400 meter from terminal 2 to the hotel. Not so good breakfast. 24 hour open mc Donalds just 5 minutes away.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our travel agent originally recommended this hotel for our 2 night stay in Christchurch but we were glad we changed to a more central hotel in the city. However, when AirNZ (bless them!!) made yet another change to our schedule so that we had to return to Christchurch for our flight to Sydney (rather than stay 2 nights in Dunedin), we did agree to stay a night at the Sudima. Glad we did as the location is perfect, the room was clean, comfortable and quiet and the bar/restaurant was lively and offered good food and drink options and prices. The free on-demand shuttle service to/from the airport worked brilliantly even at 4.30am. Our agent had offered us a more highly rated option when they learned the Sudima would be undergoing a major refurbishment but that hotel had no bar and no Reception staff or shuttle service during the night. We experienced no inconvenience from the refurb during our short stay.

Room Tip: We faced the airport and support roads but enjoyed a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I have just stayed overnight at the Sudima hotel and have found it to be a great place to stay and only 5 minutes walk to the hotel from the Airport no taxi required. The hotel is a single story and has been refurbished to a very good standard I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, there is a comfortable bar and great restaurant which have very good quality meals.
Then rooms are a good size with all the bells and whistles. The pool area is currently under construction as this appears to getting a face lift. I will be returning to this hotel as it fits a lot of the criteria for me

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comet, Qld
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our flight arrived at 11.30pm so all we were looking for was a bed. As we'd stayed here before we knew what to expect. It's proximity to the airport and the fact that they have their own 24 hour shuttle were deciding factors. Also the reasons we decided to stay again on our way home before our early morning flight. We also had a nice dinner in the restaurant on our last night.
The refurb will improve the quality of the rooms which are rather old and tired but serve the purpose. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.