We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for airport access, dated and drab” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport to your Saves list
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good for airport access, dated and drab”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as we had a 7am flight the next morning. Being 2 mins from the terminal and having a 24-hour free shuttle was convenient. The hotel is drab and needs updating. It's unacceptable not to have wifi in the rooms (only in the lobby) in this day and age.

We didn't eat in the hotel but the restaurant was crowded.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    253
    216
    75
    32
See reviews for
91
293
60
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Overpriced hotel for what you get. The whole hotel is dated,
We just wanted to have a nice sleep after a late arrival. The bed didn't help at all.
yes, it is very close to the airport but as you will find, there are a few better options very close too.
The positive side is the staff, helpful and polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent 2 nights here . The 1st was on our way to the south and the 2nd was o0r last night before departing NZ for home. The 1st night we were in an older room, it was hot, no fan or air conditioning and was not a pleasant night for sleeping. Others had a better room and facilities and we all paid the same price.
Second stay we were in a much better room and were happier than the 1st night. Restaurant was good as was the food.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room as the older ones are a bit tired & lack fans or a/con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed here for an early morning flight. Smooth check-in and headed to bar to watch the afl. Food at bar hit or miss,bit greasy but what can you expect. Huge hotel,excellent location. Good nights sleep and to us that's all that mattered. Shuttle bus in morning to airport unnecessary but really helpful when you have a lot of luggage like ourselves.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

After my complimentary transfer from the airport, I was checked in efficiently. My room number was 701, a nice spacious room. Tidy and clean. I didn't think there was a jug and tea available but then later found it in the wardrobe. I went to the bar for a nice calamari salad and a drink with dinner, service was polite and efficient. Later when organising my room service breakfast, Phil the F&B manager was extremely accommodating and for that I thank him. I left very very early, the transfer is very very convenient as it was far too cold for me to walk to airport.
Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is really close to the international airport, few hundreds of yards from it, you do not need taxy or bus. Nice room, good kitchen easy to arrive downtown with bus. I found price are little it high but this is a common problem all around New Zealand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights / one night on arrival and one night before we left NZ. Located just minutes away from the international airport it is a welcomed overnight stay when arriving very late at night. A free shuttle can picks you pick up and drops you at airport anytime day or night - very handy for those early early morning starts. The room was comfortable, with all usual amenities. The hotel was undergoing renovation therefore the overall condition of the hotel will improve. However we didn't find issue with anything - bed was comfortable, shower/toilet clean and serviceable. We had free bottled water in our room and ample tea and coffee making facilities. We got a good deal on room rate but the usual price is a bit high given most guests don't stay long.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.