We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport to your Saves list
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super Convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Agree with all other reviews - very convenient to terminal, we found the staff very friendly. The room was very dated and could use an update. Next time would ask for a room in a different section of property. Buffet a bit pricey and way more food then needed so we ate in the bar and were pleased.

Room Tip: Lots of people stay their for early flights so the door noise is a bit annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    253
    214
    75
    32
See reviews for
91
293
59
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kiama, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our room was comfortable but nothing special, We decided to have dinner at the hotel and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the meals and the standard of service of the staff. The staff at reception were also very helpful. A good choice for a hotel, if like us, you have an early flight and have to drop a car off at the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUssie
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is well priced, clean and comfortable within walking distance to the airport. It's not fancy but has everything you need and surprisingly quiet. The restaurant was nice (not wonderful) but the staff were wonderful and very helpful. Walking distance to Antarctic centre (which is very expensive) and would say this is one of the best places to stay in Christchurch at the moment even though it is at the airport!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

arrived at reception, and when paying for room, receptionist was rude saying because my card wasnt from a new zealand bank it would get a charge. although later when having something to eat, the young boy took my mums card and didnt charge cause it was a debit card, so confused about this. we stayed in a two bedroom room for four of us, room spacious enough was very basic rooms really warm throughout the night, although our flight wasnt til the afternoon we had to be out earlier and they couldnt let us keep room later so alot of waiting about, abit disappointed swimming pool was outside aswell, was too cold to go out :) would stay again in hotel although food was very over priced :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We needed a hotel close to airport for an early flight and this was it. We thought it quite pricey. nice but not great. Food also very expensive but a big buffet choice also. Laundry is available which is a boon for tourists. lady at reception was rude!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I spent one night at Sudima while on my way to Brisbane from Wanaka. The location could not be better and unless you have a lot of luggage or little ones, it is an easy walk from the terminal to the hotel. Checkin was fast, efficient and very friendly. I had one of the premium bureau rooms so it may have been upgraded recently. Bed was comfortable. Wakeup call came when requested, so all was good.

I read a lot of negative reviews of Sudima, but I would definitely stay here again when in transit. The wifi worked well in the bar/lobby but was weak inside the rooms - but no problem, I am happy to check my email with a beer in hand! Wi-fi is not free but ridiculously cheap ($10 for 24hrs).

I did not experience any airport noise. True that you can hear people passing by your door (along the hallway), but I was in late and out early so it was not a deterrent or distraction. But that knowledge also made me more conscientious about my own exit, so as to not disturb other guests.

I found all the staff (check-in, check-out, bar staff) extremely friendly, helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: Choose a Premium Bureau Room if you want air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel only because we had an extremely early morning flight, and from this perspective the hotel is perfect. You can easily walk to the terminal in 2 minutes and there is no need for a shuttle unless you have huge amounts of luggage.
The front desk staff were efficient, if not a little brusk (there were huge numbers of group tours booking in right before and right after us so this was understandable), but they answered queries helpfully. There is coin operated internet right by the front desk which is helpful. or there is wifi if you have your own device.
The hotel appeared to be huge and was extremely busy when we checked in. The actual rooms are relatively spacious and comfortable, but basic and show their age. There is no problem with them at all if you're just looking for a bed the night before a flight.
We ate at the restaurant and were pleased with the service, although the sheer volume of people eating (and many groups) meant that service became slower the longer we stayed. I'd go in early to try and avoid the rush if you can. I thought my meal was reasonable, my partner thought his was more average. We ordered off the menu but they appear to sometimes do a buffet, which may appeal if you are starving and want to load up!
My main issue has nothing to do with the hotel, but with inconsiderate fellow travellers. There was no plane noise at this hotel at all; however, an extremely loud party of guests in the corridor woke us at midnight and again several more times before they moved on. This was despite a lovely gentleman in another room telling them where to go. I suspect this is a common problem as there are signs in the corridor asking guests to consider others and not make loud noise in the corridors. In the end, the gains we should have made by staying close to the airport were negated by the thoughtlessness of others. You might do better (perhaps) on the second floor, further away from the restaurant and potentially drunk guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.