We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does exactly what it says on the tin!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport to your Saves list
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Invercargill
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It does exactly what it says on the tin!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

It's an airport hotel which does exactly that. A clean room close to the airport for an early flight. It's basic but does the job. The free shuttle is handy for the early flights or its close enough to walk if you are in need if stretching your legs and getting some fresh air

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. Exactly what it says on the tin - a three and a half star hotel.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    287
    259
    94
    39
See reviews for
103
343
70
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had a late-arriving flight (aren't they all) from Australia and an early departure. It was great having the hotel within walking distance, particularly as it was raining when I arrived. I could also have called and they would have collected me. So service and location-wise, the hotel rates a '5'.

The room was functional, clearly from another era (1950's?) although being unable to get to sleep, I appreciated the little television with Sky. There was no aircraft or traffic noise (possibly due to the time). I will have no hesitation staying here again because it will always be as a 1-2 night stopover.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
Yes, the hotel is very handy to the airport, being 700 metres from the terminal and certainly within walking distance so it is not surprising that a lot of our guests at this time of year take the opportunity to stretch their legs after a flight.
As you are aware we do provide a courtesy shuttle and this can be arranged by contacting the hotel on arrival by using the freephone at the accommodation directory board adjacent to the Info desk.
The hotel opened in 1965 and has had 2 further wings added since then along with various refurbishments. It is about to undergo a major upgrade in 2013.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

So close to the airport you could fall out of bed and land at your check-in desk! Word of warning - take your earplugs with you if you want a good nights sleep. People are checking in and out all night long and not everyone is very considerate. I was even woken up by a member of staff walking past my room at 3am with their walkie-talkie blaring out. I liked the complimentary newspaper delivered to my room in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for being woken up by one of our Night Staff's loud walkie talkie. The staff member concerned has been counselled accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

From the outside, the Sudima looks a bit ropey, but the inside was better than other airport hotels I have stayed in. Room was fine with a powerful shower. Breakfast was good. Quite a long way out from Christchurch town centre. Having to pay for wi-fi always annoys me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Yep it's Midnight and you are off the Flight at Christchurch Airport. It is quite mild weather so I take the stroll to the Sudima Airport Hotel in Christchurch. I find the couple fresh from the Far North Queensland experience who are from The UK. They are not lost just looking for The Sudima Hotel.
We arrive tin a walking convoy at The Reception. Welcome is warm and check-in swift. Up to my room which is clean and well appointed. Sleep is on the agenda after text message's home for confirmation of safe arrival and no shaking of buildings. Breakfast should not be missed at this place. Good spread, Coffee about waht you would expect from a Self Serve Machine, freshly delivered morning paper to enable a quick update on local issues. Service is excellent in New Zealand but The Sudima at Christchurch deliver it with the politeness only KIWI's can do. Parking for Visitors is plentiful and free. If you are doing business in Christchurch then I suggest the late night flight as you can relax and be ready for a big day.

Room Tip: Don't forget that you can use the free phone in the Arrivals to ring The Bus to pick you up if i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Given how few hotels have been left standing after the tragic earthquakes, one would think the Sudima would up their game and make some effort to offer even modest levels of service. Many airport hotels acquire a bad reputation, but none more deserving than this hell hole. It is like a zoo. The standard rooms, and the premium rooms are dumps. There are some adequate newly refurbished rooms with air con but getting these is a lottery and their website is wholly misleading. Don't fall for the trap we did in booking and paying for a premium twin bedded room. We were given a disgusting old room, with no air con. The hotel manager on duty was rude, and the general manager has written to tell me it was a premium room. According to him, If I had wanted the newly refurbished rooms I should have requested a premium bureau room. The website is wholly misleading and gives you no option to book a twin bedded premium bureau room. In the end O had to pay for 2 queen bedded rooms just to get rooms with air conditioning on a stifling night. The common parts of the hotel are horrible beyond belief. Maybe staying overnight laying on the airport floor would be preferable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer

As you are aware I have explained the nuances of booking our various room types on our website and apologised for the confusion that arose to you directly. I am pleased to advise that we have made immediate changes to our website as a result.

Although the hotel is about to undergo an extensive renovation during 2013 we have never claimed to be more than a Qualmark rated 31/2 star hotel. I have to take issue with the emotive descriptions you have used in your review - as they say don't let the facts get in the way of a good story.

Our many regular & returning guests can attest that the hotel is not a zoo nor a hell hole, the rooms whilst not luxurious are not dumps and the common parts of the hotel are not horrible beyond belief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Sudima on New Years Eve and prebooked a meal. The room was very basic and dated for the price and I have eaten better at MacDonalds for a fraction of the price. Lift your game Sudima You are an embarrassment to our city.This is not our first stay there but our worst!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am disappointed to learn you did not enjoy your meal on New Year's Eve. Your assessment of your meal is at odds with the feedback received from many hundreds of happy diners we host each week (copies of customer satisfaction surveys available for verification).

As we have a policy of 100% satisfaction, if your concerns had been raised with our restaurant supervisor on the night then your meal would have either been replaced or not charged for.

You are welcome to contact me personally if you would like to discuss your concerns further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.