We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable excellent wifi - but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Save Saved
You added Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Nuku'alofa, Tonga
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very comfortable excellent wifi - but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you overnight and need to return or go to the airport very early this place is for you. Excellent free shuttle service to the airport commencing at 0400 and staff are great. Good pool and gymnasium to refresh you and Westfield shopping centre probably 10 to 15 minutes drive so good for a lazy free day this Westfield has gold class cinemas. The hotel has everything you need except a fridge in the room you can ask for one though. Free tea and coffee and all the best channels on tv. So all you travellers if you want a reasonably priced first class facility and you do not need a lie in past 0500 I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed on 6 th floor very nice view of the Carpark and surrounds but nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    186
    181
    60
    24
See reviews for
75
236
38
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Shotel is conveniently placed near the airport if that is what you need. That places it about 25 mins from christchurch centre. The place looks in need of a facelift. The room was neat and tidy but really guys a tiny CRT TV in these times?? As usual the internet acees was expensive, don,t really understand why hotels won't give wifi as part of the room fee. Not the best place i have stayed but not the worst.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

After flying in late from Sydney, we literally just checked into our room quickly to have a good nights sleep before an onward journey the morning after. The room was clean with adequate room size. The only negative was the noise, someone arriving late next door and making a lot of noise, and then the morning after quite a lot of noise outside of the room in thr corridor. On the plus side this hotel does have a good shuttle service, which operates 24 hours a day to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Try a room not near a doorway (quite noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narre Warren, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A very good basic hotel that is close to Christchurch airport. Within minutes of calling the shuttle bus arrived to pick us up. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The customer service was very good and they looked after our bags after checkout until our late afternoon flight. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a large motel type hotel catering for conventions and individuals. It is next door to the Antarctic centre. The rooms are clean and comfortable motel type rooms and the food in the restaurant was good. It is not really a holiday base, you would stay here for a late or early flight, for a fly in business meeting or if dropping off a hire car before a flight. In room wifi was $10 for 24 hours. There are washing machines for guests. Room numbering is odd 600 and 700 series rooms are on the first floor not the 6th and 7 th as you would expect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel about 3 weeks ago. I could hear the lady in the next room quietly talking on the 'phone. I bet she got no sleep that night from my snoring. It is very conveniently situated a short walk (across traffic roundabout) to the airport. The breakfast I had of lambs fry and bacon was terrible. Once again you had to pay for the Internet which I thinks a damn cheek.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is just up the road from the airport, it would only take you a few minutes to walk but with my bags it was quite handy that they provide a free shuttle service. I was planning on walking to the hotel but in the end just used the free phone just beside the exit doors in the airport terminal to arrange a pick up. It was super quick and friendly service. No problem checking in but it was a bit strange walking to my room with my suitcase through the restaurant area. So the layout was a little strange. The room was good and I had no trouble with noise. The room seemed clean but the hot water boiling jug was quite dirty. The room was basic but comfortable. I had breakfast there which nice but average. You get a free newspaper each morning if you want one which was good. There are not many shops around the hotel but there is a McDonalds within walking distance up the road and of course you could always buy food from the Airport if you needed too. My bathroom only had a shower but that was fine for me. The hotel staff were friendly and I was able to store my bag all day after I checked out which was brilliant as my flight was later in the day. When I came to collect my bag later in the afternoon I was offered a shuttle to the airport and once again had a friendly and helpful driver. It is a good basic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.