We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport to your Saves list
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Just an overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

After flying in late from Sydney, we literally just checked into our room quickly to have a good nights sleep before an onward journey the morning after. The room was clean with adequate room size. The only negative was the noise, someone arriving late next door and making a lot of noise, and then the morning after quite a lot of noise outside of the room in thr corridor. On the plus side this hotel does have a good shuttle service, which operates 24 hours a day to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Try a room not near a doorway (quite noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    252
    213
    75
    32
See reviews for
91
291
59
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Narre Warren, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A very good basic hotel that is close to Christchurch airport. Within minutes of calling the shuttle bus arrived to pick us up. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The customer service was very good and they looked after our bags after checkout until our late afternoon flight. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a large motel type hotel catering for conventions and individuals. It is next door to the Antarctic centre. The rooms are clean and comfortable motel type rooms and the food in the restaurant was good. It is not really a holiday base, you would stay here for a late or early flight, for a fly in business meeting or if dropping off a hire car before a flight. In room wifi was $10 for 24 hours. There are washing machines for guests. Room numbering is odd 600 and 700 series rooms are on the first floor not the 6th and 7 th as you would expect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel about 3 weeks ago. I could hear the lady in the next room quietly talking on the 'phone. I bet she got no sleep that night from my snoring. It is very conveniently situated a short walk (across traffic roundabout) to the airport. The breakfast I had of lambs fry and bacon was terrible. Once again you had to pay for the Internet which I thinks a damn cheek.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is just up the road from the airport, it would only take you a few minutes to walk but with my bags it was quite handy that they provide a free shuttle service. I was planning on walking to the hotel but in the end just used the free phone just beside the exit doors in the airport terminal to arrange a pick up. It was super quick and friendly service. No problem checking in but it was a bit strange walking to my room with my suitcase through the restaurant area. So the layout was a little strange. The room was good and I had no trouble with noise. The room seemed clean but the hot water boiling jug was quite dirty. The room was basic but comfortable. I had breakfast there which nice but average. You get a free newspaper each morning if you want one which was good. There are not many shops around the hotel but there is a McDonalds within walking distance up the road and of course you could always buy food from the Airport if you needed too. My bathroom only had a shower but that was fine for me. The hotel staff were friendly and I was able to store my bag all day after I checked out which was brilliant as my flight was later in the day. When I came to collect my bag later in the afternoon I was offered a shuttle to the airport and once again had a friendly and helpful driver. It is a good basic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Arriving in Christchurch @ midnight is not the way to get to love a hotel. Outside the airport in the drizzle trying to find the shuttle, it was cold and damp and - hey there it was, and literally 30 seconds later there was the hotel. It was almost closer than the shuttle. Reception, for a service offered after midnight, was quick and efficient. It was a longish walk to our rooms, but then the Sudima in a earthquake zone and tall buildings are not recommended. The good sized room was a bit over heated and finding the thermostat was beyond me, I opened the window a fraction. TV - old type 4:3 CRT unit - and typical of most hotels we stayed in in NZ. Sleep quality? - very good. Good bathroom, if a little old fashioned. A real positive - absolutely no noise, and being 350 metres from the airport I found that surprising. Breakfast was typical of any reasonable hotel, the food was good, plentiful, hot and well flavoured. The good news was the coffee was the same.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

As airport hotels go, this place was a gem. Friendly helpful service, really nice vibe with a bit of a buzz, ordinary decor but clean & roomy and great food at the restaurant. The courtyard and was a sunny spot to relax and the shuttle on demand at 4am was the icing on the cake.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.