We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth what you pay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Christchurch YMCA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Christchurch YMCA to your Saves list
Christchurch YMCA
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   12 Hereford Street | Canterbury, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth what you pay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in a 6 bed female only dorm. The room I had was situated by the lift on the first floor directly opposite the tv area, so at times it was noisy, but not too bad. The beds we're comfy and the room was clean,could do with better storage spaces so your not tripping over each other's luggage, also needs an update! Kitchen wasn't too bad when you consider how many people use it, no worse than a student kitchen! The bathrooms were a lot better than I expected, they were very clean most of the time. I had no problems with the wifi, it's the standard rate for most accommodation in NZ and the signal was so good that I could use it whilst I was waiting for a bus outside the museum! Staff at reception were helpful but could have a warmer approach to guests!

Overall you do get what you pay for here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    101
    73
    24
    21
See reviews for
25
78
70
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed 7 days in a single room. Bed is a bit small but the room is clean and has a balcony. The facilities are good: gym coffee shop next door, restaurant on the ground level is offering good selection. The lobby is always buzzing and there is a booking center too. Negatives: doors are closed 10pm and you have to wait for the night staff to come and opened it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The lady till nighttime is fantastic but the problem is overnight one old fat man, absolutely rude arrogant even ignores when I asked him, bed is good, room as well. toilet alright. When u got problem something at the night time. Just keep it till tomorrow when another reception staff there otherwise u will defiantly get upset.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Chang, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here twice, simply just as a stop off between travels. Very good location opposite the beautiful botanical gardens. Walking distance to shopping centre and bus stop. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm. Lockers provided, comfy but squeaky bunk beds. Kitchen was very small for the amount of people staying there. Common areas are good & spacious with tv and books. Very clean rooms & bathrooms. No wifi, only in the cafe where you have to purchase something in order to get access to wifi, which only lasts about 20mins! Ok for a stopover.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed at ymca the moment we touched down. We didn't have high expectations as we've been to many other ymca's before. This was the best, certainly. Very efficiently run and managed. We stayed in a private room with shared bathroom. It even has a fridge in it.
Toilets were clean and the whole place was centrally located. 15minutes walk to the supermarket and a stones throw away from CBD.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of January. It is in a great location, right opposite the beautiful botanical gardens, in a great position to sort out day trips, an easy walk to the re:start centre and a short walk to the supermarket. Our room was also good, we had a private room which was spacious, comfy beds and towels were provided.
Downsides were that there was never any hot water, literally the showers were freezing which was very disappointing! Also, the kitchen. Literally the smell made me
Urge! If you get out of the lift on the first floor you can smell it. We refused to use it as it just felt unclean, also for the amount of people staying in the hostel and that small kitchen it just seems very unrealistic! Maybe on each floor a microwave or something could be installed so at least that is an option.
Really good Internet too.
Would stay here again but only if it was the cheapest option (like before). With not being able to use the kitchen we ended up spending extra money on eating out.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Staff were very helpful and friendly, Luggage storage was available

Situated directly across from the Gardens/Museum and Information centre
8min walk from City Centre/Pop-up Mall
30min walk from Westfield Riccarton
A block away from local Bus stop taking you to the airport for $8, tram is also available

Please note Christchurch is still majorly under construction. The city seems to be in limbo, there are abandoned buildings and some footpaths are still fenced off. Please do your research before travelling to this area.
I did enjoy travelling here, and found enough to entertain myself for a couple of days. I felt safe in most areas until it started to get dark. But all in all worth the stop.

Room Tip: I chose to have my own bed and bathroom, which was located on the 5th floor and was fairly quiet. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christchurch YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch YMCA

Address: 12 Hereford Street | Canterbury, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Christchurch YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the most fantastic Central City location opposite the Arts Centre & Botanical Gardens. The extensive range of accommodation is low cost and you will be impressed by the high standards of presentation. From Standard Rooms with shared bathroom, Deluxe Rooms with ensuite bathroom, to Apartments with full kitchen facilities, the YMCA caters for all needs & budgets. The YMCA Christchurch offers free on-site parking. All guests have access to extensive on-site facilities for a small additional fee. These include wifi, health and fitness centre, indoor rock climbing wall, laundry room & conference room. WE OFFER 24 HOUR RECEPTION!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Christchurch YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christchurch Ymca Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christchurch YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.