We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great school holiday activity” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Air Force Museum

Air Force Museum
45 Harvard Avenue | Wigram, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
64 3 343 9532
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$119*
and up
Christchurch City Sightseeing - Must See Three...
Ranked #5 of 108 Attractions in Christchurch
Type: Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover one of the world’s premier military aviation collections at the Air Force Museum of New Zealand; from aircraft and engines to medals, pin-ups and parachute-silk wedding dresses. Fly a simulator, take a guided tour and step back in time in a replica 1940’s home. FREE ADMISSION, Open Daily 10am - 5pm.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great school holiday activity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited during a wet Christchurch day which was perfect as the museum is indoors! We took the full tour which included activities for kids in a seperate hanger. Very much worth the extra $$.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    73
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“All for free!! Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My parents who live in Tai Tapu told us how great this museum is so we came to see for ourselves. The kids loved it... seeing all the air crafts and being able to do different activities. The staff are lovely and very informative. Would recommend to all families visiting New Zealand, not often you can go out for free!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a fantastic museum. It is free to enter, I think a small cover fee most people wouldn't mind paying. Very well set up. very clean. café there to eat in. go upstairs and have a go at some of the kids interactive section. Fun for the big kids also

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best aircraft museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Free and great display best in nz but worth doing $10 tour of back sheds very interesting.Displays have lots of information and a dam buster special display. Lots of activities even for children.allow at least 3 hours to see displays.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A treat for aviation enthusiasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The museum has a good collection of NZ related military aircraft, well presented with close up viewing available. Also a wealth of historical information including videos. We spent about 2 1/2 hours there and didn't get through everything. They offer a behind the scenes tour for a very reasonable $10 entry fee, but we did not have time to go this time.

They have a cafe that serves good food at very reasonable prices - I had a very nice beef and cheddar pie for lunch.

Best of all, admission is free.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Force Museum also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Air Force Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Air Force Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.