We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Christchurch

Save Saved
You added The George Christchurch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The George Christchurch
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We traveled throughout southern New Zealand and Sydney for two weeks, and The George was by FAR our favorite hotel. The staff was incredible, and they completely ensure all of your needs are met. The rooms are fantastic - and the only hotel to give us to double beds instead of twin size! It was all the little things that made it perfect, including heated bathroom floors and a non-steam portion of the mirror that was completely useful even immediately after a hot steamy shower. And of course - the bear!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    99
    34
    8
    0
See reviews for
39
268
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

If only everything was based on The George's service, we'd live in a fantastic world. I picked this place out of the rest for it simply sounded good, and in a good location. However, from the moment you arrive at the front door, you realize its not a normal hotel. The staff are absolutely amazing, and the little quirks you get during your stay just make it so damn memorable. Feel like royalty and stay at The George. The place is kept extremely clean and maintained, the rooms are great and again kept immaculately. With a 7-8 minute walk to Cathedral Square, and lovely botanic gardens just down the road, it located in a great spot. I really cannot recommend this place enough, we had such a fantastic experience. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed in the Park Suite with the balcony. Amazing views into Hagley Park over the River Avon. Within 15 minutes of checking in we received a courtesy call from reception to check the room was ok & to offer a complimentary drink - shortly thereafter we received 2 glasses of chilled white wine. The room had an integrated sound system throughout including the bathroom. The bathroom included a double shower and jacuzzi bath. There was complimentary port and sherry in the room as well as the standard mini bar options. We dined in the 50 On Park Restaurant which served top class food with excellent service. Getting the George Bear was a beautiful touch from a truely outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I stayed at The George for two nights with friends. The staff and service were excellent, the restaurant was simply superb! Need I say more?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I stayed with a family member in march and found this hotel to be rather pleasant and warm.

However, the outlook of the hotel should seriously be improved as its nondescript and plain-office-building outlook is rather off-putting as a first impression. As a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the appearance of the hotel should be upgraded to resemble a 5 star luxury hotel.

The check-in was fairly quick and the staff was lovely- no complaints there. Nice lobby- very cosy and warm atmosphere. Staff were helpful and friendly and automatically offered me drinks while I was waiting for someone.

Upon entering the room (on the first floor overlooking a nice little garden), the room felt a little cramped but the decor was fairly sophisticated- quite nice and plush. I was rather surprised, upon stepping into the bathroom, that a luxury hotel would provide a shower with shower curtain instead of a modern shower or luxurious bathtub. I like my bathrooms dry and the shower curtain did nothing to prevent water from spraying out. Even though it was only an executive room, the hotel should look into a way to improve and upgrade the executive rooms that are missing baths or proper showers. Also as I was just about to use their wonderful recycling bins, I was disappointed to find a used tissue still stuck in the corner of one of the bins which led me to question how thorough housekeeping was.

I was impressed by the touch-button paneling that controlled the lights. This was sleek and high-tech and everything that should exist in a luxury hotel.

Sleep didn't come easily- the single mattresses were small and not very comfortable! To top it off, something was wrong with the air con control and I kept waking up the whole night to adjust and turn on the air con again whenever the air con suddenly switched off halfway! However, did manage to fix it on the last day and wasn't too bothered by this.

I liked the fact that they offered free internet at little booths in the lobby as it saved us plenty of hassle and i was glad not to be charged exorbitant prices for internet service. The staff were friendly and showed good service to us and I liked the personal touches that came with the hotel stay such as their minty chocolates every night as well as the George bear on the first night. The housekeepers were wonderfully friendly and genuine.

The thing I enjoyed most about was the food. I had a casual dinner at 50 on Park on my first day and loved their soups and food was pretty good. Loved the truffle butter that came with the bread- kept finishing it all! For casual dining and brunch, the place is highly recommended. Breakfast was rather expensive- especially if one isn't a big eater. I ate something on the menu and wanted some cornflakes and was charged for a full continental breakfast and my ordered item. Needs a change of policy here. However, their breakfast omelets are excellent. For fine dining, Pescatore was impressive. Their entrance was beautifully modern but the dining area looked a little tired- some spicing up of the carpet maybe? Good view, lovely for watching the sunset but area should have better lighting and a more luxurious feel for the price that you pay. Food was great. We had a wonderful raspberry infusion drink made on the spot by the staff in the entrance. Their bread came in these cute little brown bags which was creative and exciting. Portions were just right and the Blaff Oysters were truly delectable- tasty and unusual!

Overall, building outlook and toilets need to be improved. But loved their personal touches and the service. Plus food is a definite draw!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We had a night to ourselves on a Movie Mayhem special and it was terrific! For $250 we has a refurbished room that came with a lot of added value: welcome drinks, two free recent movies, hot popcorn and ice-cream delivered, in-room snack pack, delivered bottled water AND a gorgeous George teddy bear that our son just loves! We flopped about in our fluffy robes and enjoyed the bathtub and underfloor bathroom heating - once we worked out the switches! The flat panel switches are a bit gimmicky but it all adds to the contemporary style. Service was great. I had forgotten my contact lense fluid so Hester on the front desk let me use some of hers! What a life saver - thanks! We had a lovely meal in 50 on The Park too. Room service breakfast was nice and the late checkout of 11am much appreciated. It's a terrific hotel for style, service and location on the park but central to town.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed two nights at The George. It was a comfortable stay and the room is pretty enough. The best thing about the place? The George bear that came with the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#10 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Venere, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.