We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Botique Hotel I have stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Christchurch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The George Christchurch to your Saves list
The George Christchurch
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best Botique Hotel I have stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Simply a home a way from home but better service, from the moment you arrive with the wonderful friendly staff to a complimentary welcome drink to the stunning rooms and then the evening bed turn down service and the complimentary teddy bear. All these things plus great room service and friendly staff make this the best place to say in Christchurch and for me New Zealand.
Great in house restaurants and close to Hagley Park make this the ideal location and place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    112
    39
    10
    0
See reviews for
48
306
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I booked The George as a place to unwind after a fairly lengthy road trip around the South Island, before heading to the airport.

We were both fairly conscious of the cost, given that although we have stayed in 5 star hotels quite often, they are usually a bit cheaper. This was soon alleviated after arriving.

The George operates a business that is incredibly personal. This occurs the moment you enter the lobby and are seated to discuss your booking with a friendly staff member and continues with being shown your room and run through its amenities in person. There are also a few surprises in store which other people have mentioned in their reviews.

After eating and staying in the hotel it gave me an appreciation. This wasn't a place that was 'expensive'. It is simply a business doing its very best to pursue what it sees as perfection. The rooms are of an extremely high quality and items are sourced from local suppliers and artists. The staff are all extremely warm and professional without exception. And the small surprises here and there, even the complimentary drinks brought to the room just after arrival, show a great deal of thought has been given to the experience.

I really liked the furniture and asked about the couches. A staff member emailed me the next day with all the details and a contact for the supplier. It is these small follow up actions which are really appreciated.

I would heartily recommend staying here to anyone. Beyond that, room 416 (Park Suite) is the finest room we've ever been lucky enough to stay in. The Park Suite rooms would be a fantastic choice for any special occasion.

Room Tip: Room 416 is AMAZING. It is on the corner of the building with nice views to the park. Beyond this it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room was very nicely appointed and clean. The service in the restaurant was excellent and it was a very pleasant stay.

Everything was as it should be for a 5* hotel. I would have written this review earlier but there is a time limit between writing reviews.

Room Tip: The main building rooms are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at The George for one night when we arrived we were welcomed at the door and escorted to the check in desk, we were checked in incredibly quickly and were given an upgrade to a suite. While walking to our room we were a bit worried because the carpet in the public areas was a bit tired and stained but on opening the door to our room all I can say is wow what an exceptional room, huge bed, comfortable couch, large flat screen tv's, lovely bathroom, shower couldn't have asked for more. In our room for 10mins and reception rings offering complementary drinks while we settle in could this get any better? Yes make sure you got to the in house restaurant delicious. On our return to our room we found he cutest teddy bear to take with us. What a great hotel will definitely be back next time we are in Christchurch. Thank you to all of the staff for making us feel so special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My research led me to find that since the earthquake, this is the 'nicest' place to stay in Christchurch.

Internally the hotel is quite modern and very nicely decorated. Our ground floor room was very small but very well presented. The bathroom was very modern and clean.

Staff seemed cold and disinterested most of the time but any request was met without fuss.

Easy car parking and within walking distance to 'CBD/Red Zone'

Breakfast was okay but the degustation dinner (Pescatore) was fantastic and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Dazman69,

Thank you for your reviews of both The George and our signature restaurant Pescatore. We are delighted you particularly enjoyed your dinner and for your comments that we are the nicest place to stay in Christchurch. Of course we like to think that we were the nicest before the earthquakes as well but admit that we do have an obvious bias.

We will raise your comments regarding the perceived staff attitudes with our team. This is the opposite of the impression they usually give, as indicated by a large number of the reviews on this site. We are glad that despite this they still responded to all your requests willingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The George on your next visit to Christchurch to conduct further research.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The George is brilliant! It's a small boutique hotel just opposite Hagley Park in Christchurch. Every aspect of the hotel is at the top end! The only thing that doesn't quite have a luxury feel is the exterior of the building which certainly doesn't give you any indication of what awaits inside. But as soon as you are met by the bellman and concierge at the hotel's entrance, you realise this is something special!

The foyer inside is small but friendly and welcoming. The rooms are wonderful - just beautiful modern furnishings with lovely luxury touches. Each room comes with a George teddy that you can take home with you - such a lovely touch. The internet is free, there are chocolates left on your bed at turn-down, the bathroom floors are all heated etc. There are so many luxury touches at The George.

Also don't miss dining there - either in the downstairs bistro or up in Pescatore. The food is amazing, innovative and very good value for money for the quality you get. And this hotel knows about wine - it's a wine list to die for with a fantastic selection of New Zealand best wine estates!

I love The George - it's a great experience and offers great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear MIWSing,

Thank you for your glowing recommendation of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and every aspect including our location, service, food and wine, and of course your George bear.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The George the next time you are in Christchurch.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Didn't realize that most of the accommodations in Christchurch is still either destroyed or under construction after their very unfortunate earthquake which hit such a beautiful city. George Hotel is the place to stay at....very modern rooms. The F&B is the best at the hotel...nice ambiance and vibe...great wines and lamb chops.

Room Tip: Book a table early at the restaurant it does get full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.