We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Christchurch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The George Christchurch to your Saves list
The George Christchurch
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over New Year. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to the Park Suite overlooking Hagley Park. The Suite was so nice we didn't want to leave! The staff were pleasant and helpful. If you get the chance use the hotel bikes (free of charge) - we cycled all around Hagley Park. Really pleased we stayed there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    112
    39
    10
    0
See reviews for
48
307
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I enjoyed 2 nights here and wish I could have stayed more! Breakfasts and dinner were superb, the room was perfect and the staff were so helpful! Christian in particular helped us to re-route the remainder of our trip to NZ after weather forced changes. He was great, and all his suggestions turned out to be right-on!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We arrived mid-December for a four-night stay, having pre-booked a triple room. Upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a suite. What an upgrade! We were given a spacious suite with a balcony overlloking nearby gardens and Hagley park to the right. The decor was modern and clean, with whirlpool bath. Breakfast was good value for this standard of hotel. All the staff we met were extremely welcoming, friendly and professional. This was the start of our holiday in New Zealand, and the bar was set very high!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent New Years eve dining and staying at the George.
The room and dinner were both lovely .

Although we were impressed with the waiters in the evening ,the breakfast staff were dire.
We waited for ages and eventually had to ask for coffee in a fairly empty restaurant and the buffet was messy with spilled milk and cereals.
Two waitresses , one holding a coffee pot , stood nearby in an apparent daze, perhaps hungover ?
Service , I find is friendly but rarely professional in NZ ( this is our seventh visit ) but I would have thought at a small luxury hotel it would be better than average .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear MrsBDH,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your room and dinner on New Year's Eve.

We have taken on board your comments regarding the service during breakfast the following morning and have addressed these issues with our team. The staff were definitely not hungover however may have been feeling the effects of a particularly busy time of year. No excuses though, we need to get it right every time and will continue to strive for that perfection.

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn,NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is marvelous!! It is a boutique hotel, but not pretentious. The staff is wonderful. Our room was spectacular with large windows showing the trees when you lie down. The hotel has paintings from local artists on the walls. It felt like you have your private museum. Room service with the most delicious food. I will never forget the pancakes I had for breakfast. Location perfect. We were looking forward very much to return to this hotel at the end of our visit to New Zealand.

Room Tip: Any room will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Given that this hotel is listed as one of the best hotels in new Zealand, and is a memberof Small Luxury Hotels, I was expecting a lot more! Yes, it has a great central location, with the added advantage of being next to lovely Hagley park. Yes, they give you a free teddy bear. But the rooms were pretty small- the bathroom particularly so... and this was not the lowest tier of room, ( it was a Premium Executive room). We asked for a quiet room on the top floor, which resulted in a room down the side of the building, about 3 rooms back from the very busy road, so it wasn't quiet at all.
The service was fine, but not exceptional ior personalised in any way.
Overall, it's fine, but certainly not value for money or anthing other than a standard modern hotel. I wished we'd stayed at an interesting looking small hotel in a lovely side street down the road.

Room Tip: no idea- bear in mind the road it is on is very busy. if you want a large room, don't go for a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear j0gli,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our location , along with the neighbouring Hagley Park; and our teddy bear and found the service to be adequate, if not as personalised as you were hoping for.

We regret that on this occasion we did not manage to live up to your expectations. We realise that we have a huge reputation to live up to which does create it's own challenges to meet the expectations that this creates. However we are pleased that in the vast majority of occasions we manage to deliver.

Your comments are a reminder that we cannot rest on our laurels and need to constantly strive to deliver a superior hotel experience.

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just stayed at The George Hotel in January on our way back from Queenstown on route to the Eagles Nest, Bay of Islands. The George Hotel is a regular stop over for us when travelling through the south island and always provides a superb level of personal service which includes a complimentary "George" bear as a gift. The reception staff are professional and always friendly, and the hotel is situated opposite the stunning Hagley Park. However, what really sets this hotel apart are the two amazing restaurants, Pescatore and Bistro50. The Pescatore restaurant is a true dining experience and offers unique tasting menus. The tasting menu also has options for matching wines from the hotels superb wine list and i have found this a great way to discover new wines. It was following my last visit that i decided to write this long overdue review for this truly first class hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.