We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The George Christchurch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The George Christchurch to your Saves list
The George Christchurch
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very smart and tastefully decorated. The hotel is on the outskirts of the earthquake zone and borders Hagley park and is near the botanical gardens and the museum.
We stayed over Christmas and the staff gave us chocolates and a Christmas bear and also made up a hamper for us to take to the beach on Christmas Day.

The downsides were Internet which was better than most other hotels but still limited to 200 MB per day free and the continental breakfast which was the most expensive of any we had and which was the worst by far... Don't bother with it, either go a la carte or go out, the hotel also had no gym on site but did give access to a local gymnasium , good alternative but not at Christmas when they were closed

Over

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sbz100,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent visit with us. I am very happy that you enjoyed our facilities and location, along with the extra touches such as the hamper on Christmas Day. I am also pleased that you found the quality of our internet better than most.
Thank you also for your feedback on our continental breakfast. While we are confident it is very competitively priced when compared with other five star hotels in New Zealand, I have passed your comments on to our Executive Chef and we will look to improve our selection in the near future.

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    112
    39
    10
    0
See reviews for
48
307
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had 2 overnight stays here (10 days apart). The hotel is situated next to Hagley park and close to Cashel Street ,the red zone, the main (and devasted) shopping centre. It is worth seeing this and the innovative way they are rebuilding shops (on a temporary basis) using containers.
The staff were very welcoming meeting (and parking) the car smooth checking in and swift transfer of baggage to room. Complimentary juice or tea/coffee was offered and accepted-it was a very hot day when we arrived. There is free wifi available in the lobby and the rooms.
Lovely modern room with king size really comfy bed and pillows (especially after 10 days in a campervan!). Did not notice any 'aftershocks' while we were there they do happen apparantly on occasions (or maybe we slept so well we didn't notice).
Its quiet although next to the road. Lovely touch with the' teddy' and chocolate and nice toiletries.
On our second stay we were in 302, the bathroom is a wet room disabled access friendly. So if you wanted a bath it may be wise to stipulate this, didn't bother us though.
We didn't eat in as we had early starts planned and as it was close to xmas the restaurant was clearly busy with parties etc (we didn't feel comfortably dressed for this), however, the menu looked really nice - would definately eat in if there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Located very close to the city centre but also next to the beautiful Hagley Park. It's close to the Botanical gardens and the main tourist information centre. The hotel is quite expensive compared to anything else in the area, but if you want the best, this is it.

The service was welcoming and helpful. They also helped in altering my reservation when I realised Christchurch was still not buzzing after the devastating earthquake. The room I received was on the ground floor and feels small. The rooms are very modern and the toiletries and the George bear are a nice touch. The hotel also has some very nice dining options and come recommended if you don't want to go further afield.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Right from arrival we were treated like royalty. The consierge met the car, we were escorted to the reception area. Then up to our room where the bags arrived a minute later.

The room (413) was spacious, clean, tidy, well equipped and very comfortable. Bathroom was good although the sliding glass door was a bit strange and 'clunky'.

Breakfast and two dinners in The Bistro were excellent. There was a long delay for food on the first night due to a large group at one table, but the food was first rate.

Free computers in the lobby area and free wifi in the room was good.

Had excellent service from the consierge who even found a tape measure for us. Also, our turndown maid, Rose, was lovely when she gave us George and met Philly. (Rose, he has settled in well back in the UK).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwiich
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We changed to this hotel after the earthquake because ours was not usable. The staff rose to the occasion magnificently and we found ourselves in a really smart boutique hotel with a very large bedroom - 2 Kingsize beds with a "pillow menu". We ate in the dining room on 2 nights and the food was excellent , plus the service was good and the staff friendly. The only downside were the 2 mini-earthquakes experienced at 1.30 a.m. Not good. But we came away with our own George bear (see blog) and he travelled right round New Zealand and back to the UK with us. So our visit to Christchurch was not a disaster after all.

Room Tip: Our room on the side, at the front overlooking the main doors and car park, was absolutely fine.Noth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at The George numerous times for business.it is well located. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed. Service is excellent from check in to room service. The bar and restraint are very good and compare well to alternatives in Christchurch.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had one night before our flight. We were given a free upgrade to a park view suite. We so wished we were staying longer. The room was huge! Huge bath and shower. Giant comfortable bed. Just wish we hadn't had to be up at 4am. Hotel booked us a cab which was there on time. Had a great dinner in the 50 bistro.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.