We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Christchurch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The George Christchurch to your Saves list
The George Christchurch
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Whilst the appearance of the Hotel from the outside may look average, inside is a completely different story.

As soon as I stepped outside the taxi, I was greated by the Porter and the checkin process only took only a matter of minutes. The Porter took by bags and walked with me to my Hotel room and explained air conditioning / tv etc...without appearing to wait for a tip

Following a call to reception regarding wifi (which a small amount of data is complimentary), I was then offerred a fresh juice which was then delivered within minutes.

The Hotel is within a short walking distance to the devastation of the earthquake city centre (a walk down Gloucester Street is an "eye opener").

The "free" George teddy bear is a nice touch to take home.

Whilst I did not "upgrade" the base room I booked, the view from the room, not surprisingly, was not great.

My prebooked taxi (as arranged by the Hotel) arrived on time in the very early hours of the morning for my next flight.

Whilst the Hotel is approx 15 minutes from the airport, this Hotel would be my first choice for my next stay in Christchurch.

Room Tip: Room 302 was located right next to the lift, but I did not find this an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    129
    41
    13
    1
See reviews for
57
351
28
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2012, The room was immaculate and the staff very friendly.
10 minutes after we checked in reception called to check if everything was OK with room, nice touch!
Food in 50 Bistro was great for both dinner and breakfast.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

From the moment you step inside, you feel that they are there to take care of you. Service is impecible, I had hardly walked in the door of my room when the phone rang offering me a tea or coffee which got delivered to the door within minutes of having hung up.

The bed was soooo comfortable and the bathroom is spacious and luxurious. I did have a problem with the inbuilt buttons to flush the toilet. They were particularly difficult to push in, even my husband mentioned the fact.

We dined in both of their restaurants and was completely impressed by food quality and service. 50 Bistro offers yummy food with a twist and is reasonably priced. Pescatore is another whole experience. I recommend you book as they are popular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in this property for 2 days, and i must say that hotel was really good.
Its the only 5 star hotel in Christchurch as per what they say, but its not as big as 5 star hotels in other parts of the world, its comparitively very small. But still the hotel was very neat and tidy as well as the staff was courteous. The park in front of the hotel adds the beauty. Also the hotel is earthquake resistant, a must for a city like Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The George knows how to do luxury right. Great restaurant. Amazing rooms and bathrooms. Great view of the park. Friendly service. Only downside for our visit was the unfortunate state of the CBD from the earthquake (no fault of the hotel of course, which looks undamaged)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed for 1 night. Beautiful modern rooms, very friendly staff. The restaurant also seemed very nice and popular though we actually chose to have dinner outside the hotel. Unfortunately the city centre has been badly hit by the earthquakes and there are not many tourist attractions available at the moment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The best hotel in Christchurch by far. Lovely service and best laid out suite. Definitely on our must stay list unlike our Queenstown stay. Staff here were lovely and very attentive in a good location. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#14 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.