We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Ye Olde Worlde character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heartland Hotel Cotswold

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Heartland Hotel Cotswold to your Saves list
Heartland Hotel Cotswold
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88-96 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Masterton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of Ye Olde Worlde character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I found myself unexpectedly upgraded to "The Royal Suite" aka "The Lancaster Suite" which was huge! If you love mock-Tudor & antique furniture, this place is for you.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the suite was clean and tidy with a spacious bathroom and a luxurious bed to die for!

Overall, I thought it was great value for money and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Lisa T

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in one of our Royal Suites, which I agree are spacious.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Heartland Hotel Cotswold in the future.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    66
    49
    11
    5
See reviews for
24
65
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our room provided spacious accommodation with a sitting room with 2 sofas and table and chairs. There was a separate bedroom and bathroom but was all looking and feeling a little tired. Breakfast was filling but pricey.

Room Tip: We were in room 816 on the ground floor at the back of reception and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear candt1969

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. All your comments have been discussed with my team. Your favourable comments re; our breakfast have been well received by the kitchen team.

Thanking you Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omer, Israel
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We started a tour of the Southern Island with a stay at this hotel. The rooms are large and clean. We spent there a cold evening (heating was not working and it was somewhat late to take care of it). Room numbers are poorly marked (and barely visible by night). Bathroom shower was a poorly designed and leaking outside the shower area. Service was good and friendly and the restaurant had decent dinner fare and a warm atmosphere.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Julian S

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Cotswold on Tripadvisor. I have discussed all aspects of your review with my management team to ensure the issues you faced are resolved.

I am glad you had a pleasurable dining experience in our restaurant, Tudors on Papanui.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

In all my years of travel, this was the only place where they called to make sure we won't miss breakfast (which was included in our room pkg). Very considerate of the restaurant staff: it saved our morning.

The place is built like a Medieval English Castle: fun to just walk around the courtyard, taking pictures. Watch out for loose cobblestones; kids tripped a couple of times. ( note to management: you need to fix those before somebody gets hurt). Rooms are old , but that goes with the lay of the land, but are adequate, clean and comfortable. Easy check in/out. Not much restaurant choices within walking distance. Overall a pleasant experience for the family.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear coolguy007

Thank you for placing feedback on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and in particular our breakfast options. The cobblestones have been addressed and we are working towards developing the driveway area.

Kind Regards, Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a room at the back on the 1st floor with no lift, so heavy bags have to be manhandled - the layout is odd. Our room was large, but dark with little furniture. The hotel pool was very dirty and not usable - but not recognised by the hotel when pointed out to them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear A and L H

Thank for you placing feedback on Tripadvisor. The layout of the hotel was designed with Tudors architecture. Yes we do not have lifts however we have porters available to assist with luggage. I apologise if the porter did not assist you on this occasion.

I hope the remainder of your trip to New Zealand was enjoyable.

Kind Regards, Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here twice - at the start and end of our trip to New Zealand. On both occasions we had very spacious rooms which were very comfortable. The hotel is trialling new toiletries so completing a survey with testers available at the reception. Also the toiletries in the bathroom were great and gave a bit of a touch of luxury.

The location of the hotel was good for us - there was a courtesy bus that took us to the Antarctic Exhibition opposite, not far to walk to the shops and restaurants etc on Papanui Road, but also not too far to walk into the city centre - although there is a bus stop right outside the hotel for those who don't want to walk.

Richard in reception was really helpful and friendly - a great welcome to New Zealand. The only slight disappointment was the gym, which only appeared to include a rowing machine and an exercise bike with no saddle.

Our rooms were lovely and quiet on both occasions - would definitely stay here again if visiting New Zealand again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear JOncas

Thank you for placing comments on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that our Duty Manager Richard was helpful and courteous.

Unfortunately the saddle of the exercise bike was in for repair during your stay, however this has now been replaced.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

when i returned to this lovely place,,i felt like i was coming home,,i was welcomed so kindly by maree and gesh and abdi ,,,maree and gesh knew me from 2 wks ago ,,i just met abdi,,,
they are all wonderful folks,,,when i first arrived gesh went to the phone place and got me a phone,,,,last night upon my return ,,the room was ready ,,the international plug to the extra towels ,,,,,
they are respectful,,good sense of humor and wonderful hard workers that go above and beyond !!!
I think that Maree and Gesh are an amazing team,,,i would recommend this place to anyone traveling to christ church .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maree W, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Cotswold, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Lorie

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you during your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Cotswold. I am glad that Gesh and Abdi ensured you had a memorable stay. I hope you enjoy the remainder of your holiday "Down Under" and look forward to welcoming you back anytime you are next in Christchurch.

Kind Regards Maree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heartland Hotel Cotswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Cotswold

Address: 88-96 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Cotswold 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heartland Hotel Cotswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland Hotel Cotswold, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.