We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elevate Bar & Restaurant

Elevate Bar & Restaurant
2 Colombo Street | Cashmere, Christchurch, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #293 of 519 restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Have had several enjoyable meals here. The food has always been tastey and the service as well.

We had the T-bone steak and chicken pasta dishes, and both were very good.

A nice atmosphere and average prices.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    0
    9
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Trying to be a restaurant but failing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have eaten here a few times now with varying results. It's a pub trying to be a restaurant with high restaurant prices but food and atmosphere that falls short .

Noise is an issue and while the staff try there is just something not quite right with the food atmosphere mix.

Drop the prices a bit improve the food a bit more and it would be worth a visit .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I visited Elevate on a Monday night, it was not suprisingly pretty quiet. We werent expecting anything great, but were both pleasantly surprised by the food, I had the fish special, which was well cooked and very tasty, my wife had the chicken, which she also enjoyed. As it was quiet service was also good, speedy and friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food and Service Failed to Elevate Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I selected Elevate Bar & Restaurant only to listen to a local Jazz singer Kate Anastasiou and she was the only saving grace and the restaurant was far from busy on this lazy Sunday afternoon!

The chicken pizza - not homemade dough, crust - arrived late, because I was informed that, the chef had originally cooked a vegetarian pizza by mistake; and during my 80 minutes enjoying the 27° weather on the sun soaked patio by the road as well as the music and a glass of Brookfields Syrah, the staff failed to approach to ask if my pizza was okay or if I would like to order another glass of wine or water.

That said, I will return to listen to the local jazz singer again and try another meal and see if their customer service has improved.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place for a function or a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Went to 60th birthday function on a Sunday afternoon,The function room was lovely downstairs with a courtyard.The staff very nice and the finger food was beautiful.have also been here for meals on several occasions and would go back again.pleanty of parking also

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elevate Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Elevate Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elevate Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.