We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation and staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmont Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Belmont Motor Inn to your Saves list
Belmont Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   172 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I recently needed a place for my elderly parents to stay while their retirement villa was being refurbished and they were booked in at the Belmont Motor Inn for 9 nights. The facilities were excellent and the rooms clean and spacious. The lounge area was sunny and modernly furnished (with a large screen tv & sky access), the bedroom comfortable with built-in wardrobe, the bathroom bright & airy and the kitchenette well-equipped and user-friendly. Plus, free off-street parking was available directly in front of each unit (essential in Christchurch post-quake).
The location is also great - walking distance from the City centre, close to Hagely Park, and with a dairy just down the road for any food/toiletry emergencies.
The owners, David and Sheryl Aubrey, could not have been more accommodating. They were very friendly and went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful (even providing, without being asked, additional heating and a land-line phone when my parents could not easily cope with the “newer technology”!). It's obvious they take tremendous pride in what they do, and I would like to recognize and thank them for a wonderful job.
I could not be more impressed with the way the motel is run … hence, the excellent rating!!!! I would highly recommend to all travelers for any purpose.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This motel is located near to the centre of Christchurch and easy to reach as it's just off one of the main roads. The room was spacious and modernly furnished, the kitchenette had a wide variety of utensils and cutlery and the bed was firm and comfortable. The only niggles were the cheap plastic toaster that cooked bread unevenly and the lack of a blind or curtains on the living room skylight. Due to a high level window above the door between the bedroom and living room areas, this allowed a lot of light to enter the bedroom in the morning.

Room Tip: The rooms nearest to the road are likely to be noisiest and room 7 is over the launderette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here while I was on business, but had brought my family along. We stayed for 3 nights and the facilities were excellent. David, the owner, was incredibly helpful when we needed to find a place to stay for an extra night and couldn't have been more friendly. The apartment was perfect for our needs and well appointed with all we could want. The rooms were modern and fresh.

Location is pretty good for Christchurch post earthquakes and having parking at your door makes life very easy.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom apartment which was brilliant for travelling with a 2 year old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our first stop in nz arriving at 1.30am we had our keys left for us which we were so Appreciative of. The rooms are clean, roomy and had all the necessary amenities. The kitchenette was well equipped. The only fault was the damp musky smell of the room. We put it down to perhaps it been freshly painted?

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived late into Christchurch with no accommodation booking and found the Belmont. The owner was so friendly and went out of his way to help us. The room was spacious, furnished beautifully and had the most comfortable bed I've slept in during my time so far in NZ! The room had all of the amenities you need including microwave, stovetop, fridge and cooking utensils. Car parking is onsite and right at your doorstep and the location of the hotel is central and easy to get in and out of Christchurch. Excellent value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Had a lovely stay in the Belmont. The room was spacious, modern, and was exceptionally clean. The bed was comfy and my room had a lovely balcony which caught the afternoon sun. Considering the great location, it was excellent value for money. I had a rental car and there was plenty of off street parking.
The hosts were very accommodating and friendly. I would recommend this motel to anyone looking for accommodation in Central Christchurch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late
David was so obliging
Had a tour of two rooms and both were lovely and well appointed
He even helped carry bags for us
We are happy and looking forward to a beautiful spa either before or after our visit to the casino for dinner
Yes we will be collected from our motel by the courtesy bus
Now that is service and all done with a smile

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmont Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Motor Inn

Address: 172 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmont Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmont Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Christchurch
Christchurch Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmont Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.