We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reception staff : hum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch to your Saves list
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Discount Offer
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Rennes, France
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“reception staff : hum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

excellent hotel for those who want to be near the airport
free shuttle , and free bus tickets to go to the CBD
excellent breakfast and fine bedroom
One worry only : when we left , the reception staff made a mistake : we had already paid via internet , and they debited us once again ...
We found the reaction a little bit slow , with no apologies , and although we were refunded , we lost about 10 $ ( banking fee ...) and we received no answer for our mails about this

except this unfortunate incident , we enjoyed !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    222
    49
    4
    5
See reviews for
164
294
45
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

more than an airport hotel--pleasant and helpful staff without exception, excellent rooms (business), good breakfast and bar--we'd definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We stayed 2 nights 10 days apart.All rooms were of good size with variable views,car park or trees.Bathrooms were good with over bath showers.The swimming pool area outside is subject to the start of some building work but no sign of contractors on site.
The bar and restaurant are fine and breakfast(choice of type and cost) is good.Evening meals are of a good standard.Not fine dining but better than most "airport" hotels.The hotel is about a mile out of the airport on one of the main roads into Christchurch.
The town has a pleasant central area and a series of restaurants adjoining the river.These seem to get busy quite earlyTraffic is not heavy by major UK town standards.
As an airport stopover this hotel was good.The staff are helpful and when their new public access computer system failed to work the printer to do an online check in they tried everything to help including letting us use the hotel system.There is a usage cost.
As far as we were concerned this provided the ideal starting and finishing stop on a tour of South Island

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

I wanted a hotel airport and this seemed to be best one available. All I can say is that it is much more than just a convenient location. It really is an excellent hotel that gets so many things right. I could have happily stayed here for a week during my trip. Very relaxing but also has the latest technology. The room layout was one of the best I have seen. The only thing missing was a good view but the sense of relaxation more than made up for that. The restaurant was also very good - best lamb from my whole NZ trip. Chirstchurch is not a huge city, so the hotel is convenient to the city centre. I should also point out that I did opt for the business package which I believe offers the best rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I was warmly welcomed by reception even though it was past midnight. The hotel was very clean and well appointed. Great meals.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tugun, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights at then end of a two week trip around the south island. They could not do enough for us. free drink vouchers on check-in, the shuttle bus that will take you to the local mall, the antarctic centre the airport and these places will then call the hotel and they will come and get you to go back to hotel as well. Excellent staff = nothing was too much trouble. Well done

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

This is a good airport hotel but isn't really somewhere i would choose to stay unless i was taking a flight. The hotel is well located and the rooms comfortable. The food is not particularly good value but the portions are huge so you could probably get away with sharing a portion between two! We had requested a quiet room so were surprised to receive a room next to the building work going on on the terrace! However, the staff are very polite and friendly and the on demand shuttle service to the airport was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.