We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch to your Saves list
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Discount Offer
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Arrived at the Copthorne after our overnight flight and were pleased with the accomodation and level of service. The manager accompanied us to our room and gave us tips about great places to see while in Christchurch. The room was well appointed and we were pleased to be checked in early so we could shower. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    222
    49
    4
    5
See reviews for
164
294
45
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Friendly welcome, the accommodation in the “Business level” was fantastic felt very pampered, probably the best accommodation we had in New Zealand. Excellent hotel but let down by disappointing buffet breakfast, poor quality sausages, had to ask for a top-up of coffee on both our visits. Hit and miss DIY toaster, had to adjust so that we didn’t end up with burnt toast. Lesson learnt on first visit. Enjoyed our evening meals especially the puddings. Much appreciated was the free bus pass to Christchurch city centre (bus stop opposite hotel), free shuttle bus on request to the Antarctic Centre and the airport.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We were not sure if this would be a good option as our last stay. What a surprise. Rooms are comfortable and bigger than the normal hotel box. Bathroom is clean with shower/toilet separate from large basin/mirror area. Decent size pool a tennis court (with racquets to borrow). And the meals (dinner and breakfast) were fantastic. The reception staff were very friendly and the restaurant staff, especially the evening restaurant manager, were first class. This is definately a good option for Christchurch - the city is not that far away either. Free shuttle service to the airport and to the nearby and worth visiting Antarctic Centre.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Stayed at this hotel after travelling from Picton on the TRANZ COASTAL TRAIN.
Got taxi from train station to hotel about 10 mins drive. We were welcomed at the hotel shown to our room and then we realised my Son had left his Australian outback leather hat on the back seat in the taxi!
We went to reception and with our limited knowledge about which taxi company we had used and thanks to their cctv they managed to locate which taxi company we had used and arranged for the hat to be deliverd to the hotel before 8am as we were leaving for the airport the next morning to fly to Singapore.
Can't thank the staff enough for their service and help in getting the hat returned.
The hotel rooms were lovely spacious and clean.
Ate in the restaurant in the evening had a lovely meal. Childrens meal was good value too.
Breakfast was great.
Unfortunateley we didn't have time to enjoy the leisure facilities.
Oh yes and not forgetting Ken the resident cat!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

The other reviews are right in recommending this hotel highly. It's very well appointed and comfortable and would be a good option for weekending in Christchurch, given the ease of access to the centre of the city (particularly when you compare prices with some big and pricey names in the centre - the Copthorne Commodore is more than a match for them in terms of comfort). The accommodation is very clean and of a very high standard. We heard absolutely no noise from the airport. The staff are extremely friendly and one of the hotel's key features are that it is family run, with that personal touch, despite being a member of the Copthorne chain. Would definitely return here.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We paid $155 NZ for a beautifully furnished luxurious room with two queen beds. Fabulous service with free airport transfers - we were picked up from the Maui campervan drop-off at the airport within minutes of calling the hotel, and the next day when we went to order a taxi to the Antarctic Centre they took us there for free and picked us up later! It's a $NZ 30 taxi ride to Christchurch CBD but they gave us a free bus pass and timetable.

The staff couldn't do enough for us. Generally I steer clear of airport hotels as they seem to treat people badly because they're in transit and unlikely to return. This is a great place. Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there at all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

After a long 17 hours of travel this was just the ticket... a short hop from the airport, and checked into our business level rooms, well worth the upgrade....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.