We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely service and room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch to your Saves list
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lovely service and room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

The only pity was I was only there for a night. I finished work at 10pm and had to leave at 6pm. Such a waste! The staff are very friendly, the beds very comfortable and the rooms are well set up. The internet is a reasonable price at $10 for 24 hrs.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Jackirmic,
Thank you for your favourable comments on service and on your bed during your recent stay at the Commodore.
You may be interested to know that we actually retail the beds that we have in the rooms. If you are interested in purchasing a bed please call myself or Sally here at the Commodore.
Yours faithfully
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    257
    53
    4
    5
See reviews for
192
341
52
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel and weren't disappointed. From check-in to departure we were well looked after. The room was great (plenty of storage, iron, ironing board, and even an adaptor in the room if you had forgotten yours)! The breakfast was great too ($22.50 for continental) with plenty to choose from. There was also a cooked version too. Their dinner menu looked good though we didn't get a chance to try on this occasion. Plenty of parking and close to our room so very handy. Nice checkout time of 11am which didn't make you feel rushed to leave. Close to city centre, Orana wildlife park and golf courses.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear JaneK,
Thank you for your positive review, gaining good feedback certainly helps add to our job satisfaction and makes us feel incredibly proud of our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is definitely outstanding, from the rooms to the service, I could not fault it.
We were picked up from the airport by the hotels shuttle bus, our driver was excellent! Our room was on the business level of the hotel, it was very roomy and well presented. We had dinner in the restaurant and the staff were excellent, very helpful and cheery! Our food was also very good. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Christchurch - we only stayed the one night unfortunately as we were flying back to Sydney the next day, it is exceptionally handy to the airport. We will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Karinajr007,
Wow!! Thank you for such positive feedback. As an Owner Operators we are very proud of our Hotel and Team of Staff. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This Hotel was outstanding as always.Over the years I have stayed here and the stay has been excellent. Where it is situated in a great place that is handy to everything is great.We took two of the girls to the One Direction concert and we had a ball.The beds were very comfy .The food cooked to perfection as per usual .The General Manager came out and talked to us at the breakfast table and asked the girls how the concert was so that was great all on its own. The staff were all pleasant and happy and very helpful .I would recommend this to any body coming into New Zealand and any body wanting to stay in Christchurch to stay at this lovely hotel .Thankyou to all the Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch staff for the great time we had there and cant wait to stay there again. Thankyou from Andrew and Mary Harrington.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon before our flight home. On arrival we were pleased to see the Christmas tree all decorated in the foyer! (we stayed in late November). We were weary from a long journey and check in was thorough and efficient which we were very grateful for. It wasn't long before we were standing in our room, which was spacious and comfortable although the bathroom was in need of some modernisation. Various parts of the hotel were undergoing some renovations when we stayed, but this was well managed and we weren't affected by it. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was lovely and we enjoyed our meals and the convivial atmosphere. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Despite it being kick-off season for Ant-artica - meaning all the American, Kiwi, teams etc were staying at the hotel - so it was full - prior to departing to ant-artica for the summer research season, the service was good, and relatively prompt. The room - in the new wing - was large, comfortable, and the linens were first class.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Christchurch is suffering from a hotel/motel room shortage, and the owners of these establishments are not afraid to charge what they like. So choosing something convenient with prices that don't remind you of the Hotel Cipriani in Venice is easier said than done!

This place is perfect for airport lay overs. Its been refurbished and the staff are excellent. Affordable too!

I literally walked to the reception, gave my ID and took the key in under a minute!

Big, though basic room. Quiet but not so comfy.

Good restaurant.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.