We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile and a great quiet spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

Save Saved
You added Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Service with a smile and a great quiet spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at the Commodore overnight on business. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very comfortable.

The rooms aren't exactly new but they're very clean and tidy and not run down at all.

The bar area outside was fantastic and the food was excellent. Breakfast is a bit overpriced for what it is.

Very close to the airport. A bit out of town but that's the reality in Christchurch at the moment.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    394
    206
    46
    4
    5
See reviews for
149
269
43
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here over the New Year we had a great room the service was out of this world, we had all our meals at the Restaurant which were great (thanks Chef) chocolates and biscuits by the handful. The young waitress that we had ever meal new after our first meal what we wanted to drink and she handled her self with pride, not a thing was left undone. Top marks. Check in went with great ease and nothing was to much problem. Keep up the good service top marks. We are coming back.

Room Tip: uses level two
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have stayed three times now. Our last stay was in the Business Rooms. I like the feel and ambience of the place. With friendly bar atmosphere combined with with nice value for money meals the hotel offers everything. Airport transfers friendly staff great value, I will return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Comfortable and clean rooms, restaurant is a bit pricey, average selection, no complementary breakfast. You have to go out for food. Shopping mall and restaurants are 25 mins by taxi or you can take local bus. Nice area to go out for a walk. The hotel has indoor pool, exercise room and out door tables to enjoy an evening with friends. Service was good.

Room Tip: Only 5 mis from airport, (no complementary breakfast :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our last night in New Zealand and we weren't disappointed with our Business level room which was fairly typical for this type of hotel. The room was pleasant, spacious, well designed and clean and the bathroom was well appointed. We dined in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed our meal which we felt was reasonably priced. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. A very nice way to end a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Recently spent 4 days at this hotel. Obviously wth the rebuild of the city, the accommodation is at a premium, as well as availability. However the prices exceeded those of a Five Star hotel in Sydney without the usual benefits. My initial room was dated and very stuffy with an archaic and incredibly large airconditioner [the size of a large office desk] that was inefficient and looked circa 1960's.
But after a night of being 'swallowed' by a very soft bed it was necessary to request a room change in the hope of a good night's sleep.
The next room was similar in style with a hungry bed and ineffective air-conditioning.
So a quick visit to Wotif to secure a reasoable room rate for the last night did result in securing the hotel's best premium room at a cheaper price than the basic motel style rooms. Bliss!...finally a comfortable bed and pleasant room with air-con that worked. If only I had known earlier!
General areas of the hotel were very relaxing with bar/lounge and outdoor areas made for winding down and relaxing.
I found the service spasmodic in these areas, one day full service was provided to your table while enjoying the sunshine, and the next day staff are directing you to go and and place orders at the bar. A little consistency would be appreciated. It seemed on the days that there were only a few staff on, in the bar/lounge area the service was efficient, and when there was abundant staff, they were too busy inter-acting amongst themselves. Guys I suggest you worry about the wearing of Buskers tshirts until there are no customers about.
Exemplary service from Devon on the Front Desk, a standout and thank you.
The pool area was good, but for lap swimming, one should pop down the road to Jellie Park, where there are both indoor 25mtr pools [2] and a 50mtr outdoor pool, all heated.
The shuttle service provided by this hotel is excellent and an added bonus is the free use of bicycles with helmets and locks. A great way to explore the parklands and city. Take the time to go down town to the CBD and support Restart, the temporary mall made of shipping containers. Stop have a coffee and meal and enjoy the optimism that is on show for the world.

Room Tip: Although they are further away, I can recommend the wing of the hotel which houses the business leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is close to the airport which is the plus point especially if this is the last leg of your journey back home

We were also upgraded to a better room since we were travelling on our honeymoon. However, when we stayed there, the hotel still was reeling under the earthquake and some of the locations were damaged. The staff still did a great job of taking care of the guests

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Copthorne Hotel Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.