We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vita Nova Motel

Vita Nova Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vita Nova Motel to your Saves list
Vita Nova Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   290 Riccarton Road, Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Christchurch
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Lovely helpful people, very clean accommodation, handy to shopping centre and city centre. we had 5 family members in the 2 bedroom apartment and it was very comfortable. Very quiet with no street noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
4
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here for a night in Apr 2014 in the 2 Bedroom Unit on the 2nd level. The rooms are beautifully furnished and very clean. Well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and we even love the bathroom. We will definitely stay here again if we return.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, request for rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealander
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The rooms were nicely furnished, our back unit was quiet with no street noise, and the hosts carried all our bags to the room. I will definitely stay here again. We had booked a downstairs unit, however were accidentally booked upstairs - hence the help with the bags. We could have changed the next night, though as it was we didn't bother as we were spending so little time in the unit. Still nice to have the option and it was nicely done.

Room Tip: Back of property definitely best for being away from the street and a nice outlook on residential ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and tidy. The kitchen was well equipped. The beds were comfortable. The facilities were modern and the shower was great it had really good pressure!
The staff were friendly and helpful, happy to call a cab and help with info regarding buses into the city etc.
There is a bus stop right outside the motel on Riccarton Rd that takes you into the city in about 15-20mins. You can also walk straight down the road to Riccarton Mall which has supermarkets, McDonalds, clothes shops etc which is about a 15 minute walk.
Only negatives was there was an odd damp smell in our room, but it wasn't too bad we didn't bother mentioning it to the staff, and there was a bit of outside noise with uni students making noise on their way home in the early hours of the morning but that's to be expected when you stay in a uni area.
Overall this is a great place to stay if you've got business or leisure in Christchurch.
TIP..... with the $10 airport fee added, a taxi to this motel will cost you $35.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moerewa, NZ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights in Jan 2014
Very clean and modern built in 2011. Unit 10 apartment like, with a stair to the bedroom, above the living room. Everything you need is here, even a cooker. Managers are great, took us up to the unit showed us how everything operated
Free internet, limited to 100 meg per day
Would I stay again YES this will be my motel of choice when in Christchurch

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We wanted more space than provided in other motels we had previously tried along Riccarton Road. Our unit was not enormous but well designed with the bed on a mezzanine floor above a small living/dining/kitchen area. Much better than squeezing around the end of the bed or sitting sideways on a chair to watch TV in a cramped room as in other motels. Spotless, comfortable bed, welcoming hosts. Will stay again.

Room Tip: The room we rented and recommend had a mezzanine floor. There are other types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Had such a lovely stay here. They were helpful on the phone. Upgraded us for free because they were quiet. Took our luggage up. Gave us little christmas presents. Place was immaculate. Soundproof. Service amazing. 10 minutes from the airport & 5 minutes from Christchurchs biggest shopping center. I totally recommend this place

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vita Nova Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vita Nova Motel

Address: 290 Riccarton Road, Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vita Nova Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Vita Nova Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vita Nova Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.