We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Running Bull

The Running Bull
1 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 658 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went for the 'famous' ribs, but found there was more fat than meat on them so was a little disappointed with the quality if the meal.
Then depsite it only being 9.30pm the staff started clearing all the empty tables, there were only 2 other diners tathis time, in readiness to close up - making us feel like we had to leave so they could home!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    57
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Third visit for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

It was a busy Thursday nite and so there was a wait for table service, but the place is clean and friendly with a mixed crowd. The meals were fine and the service is friendly without being over powering. It's a good casual place for a group or a couple not wanting a relaxed nite out

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

good steaks and burgers, as well as pasta and salads. Clean well presented, staff helpful. Not a place for a romantic meal but it hit the spot when your tired and don't have the energy to stray far from your hotel.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Real good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you're ready for some meat, The Running Bull is a good choice for dinner. We started with a wonderful bowl of New Zealand's famous Green Lipped Mussels then dove into a Ribeye (for me) and the meat combo platter (for the husband). The Ribeye had a great flavor and was served with a nice mushroom sauce. It wasn't the most tender ribeye I have ever had, but it was very good. Everything is a la carte, so I also ordered a Caesar salad. For nearly $8, the salad was very small and disappointing, especially compared to portion size in the USA. My husband's meal was excellent - from the filet to the lamb to the beef cheeks - lots of meat, tender and delicious. Service was good, but not phenomenal. Drinks were expensive and unimpressive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Food was bad but the service was "angry"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Family of 4 from Australia with a young blonde lady treating me like a leper. Our hamburger had a piece of Angus burger the size of a 50 cent bit. Because I'm from chch I forgave the appalling service but I couldn't disguise the low quality food

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Running Bull also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Running Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Running Bull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.