We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Running Bull

The Running Bull
1 Riccarton Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 658 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Duncan, South Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We walked in on a Thursday night without a wait. It was steak night and we got good steaks at a good price. They were also running some good drink specials. The atmosphere was lively and service was good. We enjoyed the experience and would return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    56
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi NZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This restaurant has great food. Went there the other night after a bad deal at Speights Ale House and it was great. My wife had the best steak she has eaten and the ribs were massive and tasty. We had to wait 1/2 and hr as we had not booked but the staff fitted us in when they could. This is worth going to and good value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Would have been good...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I along with 2 of our friends decided to go to The Running Bull for dinner on a double date. We ordered a pizza to share and drinks. I started on the pizza only to bite down on something hard - it turned out to be glass. Until then it was really great, with helpful staff and a great atmosphere. Understandably I was rather shocked as were the staff who did apologise and gave the table free drinks and offered a free meal - I had however lost my appetite. This is a mistake that shouldn't happen in a restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood,ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great BBQ ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Good food good place to go with friends great fries, very nice waitresses I would go again as it was close to hotel we stayed

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yum. Just what we wanted after a long drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Kid friendly. Great decor but most importantly delicious food! I had the Angus burger and my husband the eye fillet. The steak was a notch over but the sauces and sides were great. Our little one was entertained with a bag of puzzles, crayons and stickers...happy kid = happy parents. We'll be sure to go again if we're in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Running Bull also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Running Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Running Bull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.