We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing could be better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hassle Free Tours

Hassle Free Tours
Rolleston Avenue | outside Canterbury Museum,, Christchurch, New Zealand
64 3385 5775
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$60*
and up
Ranked #10 of 108 Activities in Christchurch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering tours of Christchurch and Canterbury, Hassle-free Tours is one of the region's best ways to see the New Zealand tourist attractions that draw visitors from around the world. Between discovering Christchurch in a restored double-decker bus to speeding through the Waimak Gorge in a jet boat, there are options to suit everyone’s interests.A favourite among visitors to New Zealand is the unique Lord of the Rings Tour, which ventures into the Canterbury high country for an exciting 4WD ride to the filming location of Edoras, the capital city for the Rohan people in the film trilogy.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nothing could be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were collected from our hotel by Andy and his navigator Lucas for our Alpine Safari. This was a surprise for my partner who had no idea where we were going or what was ahead. Andy drove on to another hotel to collect another couple for the tour only to find that they had not turned up so we had the tour all to ourselves. Anything you wanted to know, Andy could tell you. We stopped at a roadside cafe for coffee before we went on to 4 wheel drive across Mt Torlesse Station. Luckily for us the clouds lifted and the view over the valley and river below was magnificent. Having survived the 4WD tour we went on to the famous Hamilton Jet Boat on the Waimakariri River. This is an absolute must if you are visiting Christchurch. The trip along the river and into the gorges is breathtaking as are the spins in the boat! We returned to the cafe for a lunch that was the best food I can remember eating and then continued on to Arthur's Pass to board the Tranz Alpine train back to Christchurch. As we were a little early arriving in Arthur's Pass, Andy suggested we have a look at the 'stained glass' window in the little church next to the information centre. The 'stained glass' window was the window at the back of the church that looked up towards the mountain behind it and the waterfall that was cascading down - a perfect picture. Andy then saw us onto the train and hightailed it back to Christchurch to arrive at the station before us so that he could return us to our hotel. The train has panoramic windows making it very easy to look out either side. What was of most interest to us was being able to see where we had traveled along the river on the jet boat as well as the pituresque countryside. The trip back was most relaxing and a couple of white wines didn't go astray. When we pulled into the station in Christchurch there was Andy waiting for us. It is a long day trip - around 10 hours but it is a trip that I would highly recommend. It takes you out of the city and you get to see a little more of what New Zealand has to offer.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    17
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kirby Cross
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“City Tour Excellent, five stars Steve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic three hour tour of Christchurch and the surrounding areas on the London Route-master buses and the informative commentary by Steve made it all the better. Great to get the chance to look around and learn so much in such a short time with such a knowledgeable guide who was always cheerful and interesting.
Many thanks Steve and a special thank you for the lift back to our Top Ten site, we really appreciated your help.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tour of the back woods and jet boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I'm an Okie (Oklahoma) I have been to a few mountains been on a few boat rides skiing/fishing and the like and if you want fun and adventure hold on to you hat and be ready for the best dang money you ever spent! Even if you are from New Zealand it's a surprise a minute! Great folks, great trails, And ANDY the stories he tells are priceless! The food and coffee are excellent too! Hop on aboard and buckle your seat belt, YeeHa as we say in the Midwest this was Awesome, ask for Andy because he makes the trip that much more crazy fun!!!!

Tanese

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Red Bus City Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went on the city tour of Christchurch today and it was one of the best and most informative trips of this nature that I have ever done. The guide had a superb knowledge of the history of the city. He gave a comprehensive insight into the effects of the earthquakes and was very informative about the plans for the reconstruction of the city. He gave a great insight into all of ongoing contraversies involved in the reconstruction product. It was very clear that he loved his city and felt passionately about its future prospects. I highly reccomend this tour to any visitor to Christchurch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Front Office Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi there Brian - thanks for taking the time to review our Tour, a pleasure to host you during your stay in Christchurch and glad you enjoyed your experience with us. We are very proud of the Guide team we have working in the city on those gorgeous London Routemasters! They do indeed love their City and our entire team work hard to stay current and keep their commentary relevant, fun and interesting for everyone. As we approach a significant anniversary in Christchurch this week, we really appreciate your comments. Everyone will be "feeling the love" this week as they venture around our (still) beautiful, innovative and well-thought out Garden City. All the best for the remainder of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Red Bus One Hour City Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I have just returned to the States after spending Christmas/New Year with friends and family in the mainland. I had been in ChCh a couple of weeks after the Sept 2010 EQ, but had not seen the full extent of the Feb 2011 EQ. Our family took the Red Bus tour to experience the extent of the loss and see the progress of the rebuild. While the loss is truly overwhelming the tour did a great job of illuminating the City's plans for revitalization showing a hopeful air of optimism and passion for a City obviously in pain. The tour conductor not only pointed out the destruction of the EQ, but he emphasized the phoenix rising from the ashes in the form of new innovative, temporary and permanent, accommodation for commercial and social activities.

Full marks to the tour coordinator for the tour planning and flexibility while working under what would be considered very restrictive conditions. The bus conductor was informative, entertaining, and on the ball!

Thanks you for showing us a great time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Front Office Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Barry, your comments were so thoughtful, heartening and well-written. If I could have placed a review myself this is exactly how I would want it to sound! So for a guest on our Tour to write what we would want to ourselves... we must be doing something right. Our Guide team indeed do a magnificent job in a City we proudly represent. A City we see having worked so hard to emerge with it's prior history intact, innovative, beautiful and full of life and energy - isn't that just where a guest wants to be! Thank you for taking the time to review our Tour, thank you for coming to visit us and check out how we're going. We look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future....Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hassle Free Tours also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Hassle Free Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassle Free Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.