We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice outlook” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boatshed Cafe

Boatshed Cafe
2 Cambridge Terrace, Christchurch, New Zealand
(03) 366 6768
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 519 restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice outlook”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A nice busy little cafe by the river but not many cheap options for lunch food apart from toasted sandwiches. However, the food portions are a decent size for the price ($15-20) so depends on how much you want to spend on lunch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    9
    17
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Oasis near the hospital”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent 2 days at the hospital in Christchurch unexpectedly. The supply of sandwiches, salads, coffee and soup from the Boathouse helped us get thru the ordeal.
You can pop across the street and get bagels, tasty sandwiches, and treats easily. Service is quick and pleasant. We also found it very nice for jangled nerves to sit at a table overlooking the river and eat something non-greasy.
The pumpkin soup served with grilled toast was a bit bland, but hot, and a portion large enough to share. A bit of pepper improved it a lot. Chicken Caesar salad was tasty and fresh. A raspberry muffin was delicious. There was a large selection of grilled paninis and hot items as well.
An error in our order was quickly rectified and money refunded without any argument whatsoever, even tho our American accents were likely the cause.
As the hospital staff populates the restaurant at peak mealtimes, best to come a bit early or late if able.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, beautiful outlook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Pleasant place to go for a breakfast or just for a coffee either solo or with friends. Good food and coffee. Can get very busy when hospital staff have their meal times but great a other times.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Coffee and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The cafe delivers everyday and keeps the Hospital running on coffee. A beautiful place to sit and enjoy the Avon River and the history of the Antigua Boatsheds-history that we are sadly losing in other areas of Christchurch

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch NZ
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Favourite stopping place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I love this cafe. I will often stop for coffee or lunch. Recently I had lunch sitting at an outside table soaking up the winter sunshine. The coffee is good and cuisine selection just right. It is set up in the wonderful historic Antigua boat sheds. I have made friends with the two resident cats. It also has good bicycle parking.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boatshed Cafe also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Boatshed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boatshed Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.