We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay - Can't recommend enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
172 Blighs Road | Strowan, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 114 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay - Can't recommend enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We emigrated to New Zealand and stayed in the garden room. From the minute we arrived, Pam and Denis were wonderful, accommodating and extremely helpful; it was like home from home for us which was very much appreciated.
Pam and Denis are super knowledgeable about the area which will help anyone gaining their feet or looking for specific things to do during their visit. Nothing ever felt like too much for Denis or Pam and they were only too willing to help which was fab!!!
The B&B building itself is stunning and breakfast was excellent; you will definitely achieve value for money and have a wonderful, memorable stay. We cannot recommend the Lilac Rose B&B enough - definitely worth a visit if you are visiting Christchurch.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room (ground floor room) which was stunning and great if you are emigrating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
164
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We chose the Lilac Rose B&B from their excellent TripAdvisor reviews and our expectations were exceeded. The house is a beautiful 1895 restored Colonial and the rooms were excellent. Best of all, the hosts, Pam and Dennis, were charming and helpful making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had the garden room at the beginning of our holiday and on the last night of our holiday in the South Island. Pam and Denis were charming hosts and the breakfasts were fantastic! We would be happy to recommend to anyone who is looking for a charming B & B close to the town centre. Maharaja's Indian restaurant is a short walk away and the food is delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Great find, i intend to return. Very welcoming and comfortable. I enjoyed the spa on a moonlit crisp canterbury night and a long soak in the clawfoot bath in the mulberry room, not to mention the breakfasts and the pets. Many thanks, lois

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just an over night stay. Perfectly appointed. Pam & Dennis are wonderful hosts.spotlessley clean . A home away from home. Just loved Matty the retriever. Well done keep it up. Will certainly recommend to our colleagues and friends when next in Christ church.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed twice at this B&B during our recent trip to NZ as we flew in & out of Christchurch.
We were very happy with the accommodation - it's a lovely house & the hosts have gone to much effort to ensure guests feel comfortable & at home. Full cooked breakfast was the best we've ever had in our experience of B&B stays - it was fantastic!!!

We stayed in the Garden Room both times and although - as other reviewers pointed out - the bathroom is separate from that room we did not find this to be a problem. We had exclusive use of a huge bathroom & its door is right outside the bedroom door. Quirks of household layouts are a large part of what set B&Bs apart from motels & hotels after all.

Hosts were very keen to suggest places of interest for us to visit in Christchurch & all over NZ, and we found their advice most helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A sweet home with everything you need provided. We enjoyed the great hospitality from hosts Pam and Denis, and Pam given us a thorough guide for our very first visit to Christchurch. We took the Attic room, though is small but is just sweet and comfortable for 2 of us. Bathroom is clean and well heated during winter time. Nicely cooked breakfast accompanied by cutie dogie Mady. Will sure be back!

P/S we also bought a nice cute bag from Pam which is uniquely designed and made.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Address: 172 Blighs Road | Strowan, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for stunning bed and breakfast accommodation in Christchurch, New Zealand? The Lilac Rose is a charming 100 year old villa that has been completely restored to offer luxury bed and breakfast accommodation. We are conveniently located 7 minutes from both Christchurch airport and the city centre. As a guest at the Lilac Rose you can enjoy generous hospitality and spacious rooms with stylish decor, antiques and fresh flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.