We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country estate garden setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1 Butefield Lane | Templeton, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 131 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stuart, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Country estate garden setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We loved the place, Suzie and John each have special talents to make your stay a memorable one. They served a candle lit dinner for us on our arrival to NZ. Special evening. The next evening was really getting to know them, Perhaps something you look for in a B&B experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
81
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent three nights at Stuart Manor, which is a beautiful old building in a quiet residential area outside of the city. Our room (K Road) was excellent with a large bath and the breakfasts were very good. Susie and John are very nice people who are new to the B&B business and we wish them well. All they need to do to get to the top is to make sure all the little extras are covered - like having something other than instant coffee available before breakfast, having wine glasses out for the complementary wine (and some red to go with the six bottles of white), having better sweets for tea time. Overall we would gladly return if we were in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thankyou for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do offer the red wine to guests either a Merlot or a Shiraz is avail mind you its fairly hard to drink without a wine glass out for you which I immediately corrected. So sorry about that. The sweets with a cup of tea I have a selection of chocolate biscuits, home made cookies and plain biscuits. I am sorry that was not enough selection for you. I hope you enjoyed your stay in New Zealand and have lots of pleasant memories to take with you. Cheers Suzy & John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It's very hard to find a good place to stay in Christchurch. Stuart Manor came recommended to us and when I read the reviews on TA, that sealed the deal. We are 2 adults and 2 kids and unfortunately there is no family room so we had to get 2 separate rooms with no adjoining door. Also, there is no room with two double beds.
We only stayed for one night, which is too short really. But I would recommend this pretty BNB. It has a very old world charm to it with classic modern touches in the bathroom which I like. The bathrooms are very spacious too. Couldn't help but notice how clean the rooms and bathrooms were! It's only 15 minutes away from the CHC airport and Suzy happily taught us the "shortcut" to avoid the traffic rush in the morning. It's nice to be away from the town, which we visited earlier in the day, did our rounds, got back to the BNB, got a good night's rest and headed to the airport. Worked nicely for us.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thankyou so much for staying with us we really enjoyed your company. The boys were just lovely . Safe travels to you all. I sure you will be in a warmer climate now we have a cold 7degrees this morning. Regards Suzy & John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We overnighted at Stuart Manor as we had a wedding close by. What a lovely property; we stayed in the Akaroa suite - it was very special with a lovely bathroom complete with a big bath which I was disappointed not to get a chance to use ....breakfast the next morning was excellent - just maybe a little more skill with the fine art of making good coffee would make the experience A1. Suzy and John are relatively new to B&B but seemed very comfortable with people - good luck to you both and trust the venture goes well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely review. If we are over in Rarotonga we will be sure to come and share a Coffee with you. Cheers Suzy & John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a fun stay we had with Suzy and John. They have a beautiful, well appointed 100 year old B&B. They were so personable and we felt like we had been old friends coming to visit! They bed was so comfortable and the room was large with a large modern bathroom. Suzy prepared breakfasts and dinners for us. What delicous foods she prepared. Still thinking of them! We had appetizers and wine prior to dinner and sat and visited with them, learning about the area and the reconstruction of Christchurch. John's humor was so enjoyable. We truly loved our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Akaroa room but our friends stayed in the Hokitika room is it was just as lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely review, we truly value your kind words. We are so glad to have met you and hope to see you again sometime. Take good care and happy travels. Suzy & John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent our last three nights in New Zealand at the magnificent Stuart Manor Boutique B&B with our wonderful hosts Suzy and John. The accommodation is first class and the surrounding gardens an absolute picture! It was like spending time with good friends and we felt sad to leave. Suzy's attention to detail is spot on and her breakfasts an epicurean delight. The location is close to Christchurch airport and just down the road from a railway station where we caught the TransAlpine train to Greymouth and back. Couldn't recommend it more highly. Thank you Suzy and John for your warm and welcoming hospitality. Gail & Pete x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thankyou so much for your review. We really enjoyed you staying with us and likewise with us we felt we had known you for years. We hope you have lots of pleasant memories of New Zealand to take home with. you. Take good care and we will see you next time. Regards Suzy & John , Stuart Manor B & B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed in the Hokitika room. It was beautifully furnished, comfortable, clean and had an excellent modern bathroom. The breakfast was delicious. The owners were very welcoming. It is a 15 minute drive outside of Christchurch but conveniently located on a major route and close by to amentities and the airport. Highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thankyou so much for your review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and hope the rest of your journey was as memorable for you. Take care and hope to see you next time. Regards Suzy & John Currie. Stuart Manor B & B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Butefield Lane | Templeton, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stuart Manor was built in 1905 and was one of the original farmhouses for the Templeton area. Today Stuart Manor is offering boutique bed and breakfast accommodation, in a tranquil, private setting on three quarters of an acre of established and progressing gardens. We cater for six only guests and our three en-suite guest bedrooms are all on the ground floor. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.