We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1 Butefield Lane | Templeton, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 131 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lived up to Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stuart Manor definently lived up to its five star status. Suzy and John were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The cooked breakfast was excellent and the fridge was well stocked with complimentary beer/ wine/ soft drinks and juice. We stayed in the K Room. It was very spacious with a fabulous bed and bathroom. If you are thinking of going on the Tranz Alpine train to the West Coast the property is fairly close to Rolleston Railway station (pick up and drop off point for pax).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate you have gone to the trouble to do this. We hope to see you back again as we loved having you stay with us. Cheers for that Suzy & John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
81
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This gem is hidden away but worth finding. The house is an elegant structure from 1905 with lots of beautiful wood and high ceilings. Our room was large with an en-suite bathroom with both shower and claw tub. The bath and bedroom were filled with many ammenities that make a stay special. Snacks were readily available and meals were well prepared. Best of all Suzy and John were comfortable, warm people that we enjoyed chatting with.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate you have gone to the trouble to do this we loved having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you back again. Kind regards Suzy & John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stuart Manor impressed us upon our arrival, the beauty of the house with old European details attract us so much, the beautiful garden, living rooms so as our bed room and the spacy bath room, etc.. Sue and John made our stay very comfortable feel like home, it was such great memory of the begining of our 1st time trip in New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us. Take care and safe travels. Suzy & John. Stuart Manor B & B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is top notch and a gold standard as far as B&Bs go! My husband and I stayed one night earlier this week and were so impressed with the beauty of the home. Our room "room K" was SO beautiful and perfectly decorated. The hosts were very warm people and very easy to get along with. They made a delicious hot breakfast along with fresh fruit salad, toast, cereal. Each room has it's own ensuite bathroom.
It's an easy drive from the city as well as Sumner beach.
We'd stay here or recommend it again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Room "K" is so beatifully decorated and very comfortable! I'm sure all of the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartManor, Owner at Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely review. We truly value that. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we wish you safe travels. Cheers Suzy & John Stuart Manor B & B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We hired Stuart Manor for a low key wedding, and also had elderly members of our family staying in the rooms for the weekend. We had a fantastic experience with John and Sue who could not have been more accommodating.

I have read the negative comments by j9nz and the 'Be aware - New Owners' review. After our experience with the new owners, I don't believe that the events described are possible and suggest that a little exaggeration is being used. I'd suggest treating the comments by j9nz with caution! As soon as you meet John and Sue you will probably agree with me.

We had 60 people in the gardens, who all stayed quite late into the evening. Sue and John arrived home about 10pm and were more than hospitable, professionally and appropriately mingling and chatting with our guests. Nothing was an issue!

They were also wonderful hosts to the members of our family that stayed in the home for the whole weekend. The rooms were beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable.

I would unreservedly encourage anybody to use Stuart Manor, whether it is for a function or just to stay. The new owners are awesome. Many of our guests had never heard of the place. I’d suggest that it is going to become a popular and successful wedding and function centre. I wish John and Sue all the best for the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed with Suzy and John before we went to Kaikoura by train on January 9, 2013 and upon our return to Christchurch before heading home on January 14, 2013. Suzy and John claimed to be new to running a B and B. they could have fooled us. Our room was lovely, comfortable and spacious. Our hosts were big hearted, gracious and a joy with whom to spend time. John and Suzy made us feel like family members. We highly recommend a stay at Stuart Manor and be sure to spend time with the hosts.

Room Tip: The Akaroa Room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Situated about 8km from the city centre, Stuart Manor is a great place to stay. The hosts, Suzy and John are so friendly and make you feel instantly welcome. We arrived on a sunny day and enjoyed nibbles and wine in their lovely garden. The house itself is spacious and well appointed. Our room (Hokitika) was very comfortable and we also enjoyed the benefit of the large communal lounge. The splendid breakfast was served in the dining room with Suzie cooking what you wanted to order. Good WIfi reception was provided. It was a great pleasure to stay here for three nights and we recommend it, and particularly Suzy and John, without hesitation.

Room Tip: Either of the en suite rooms is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Butefield Lane | Templeton, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stuart Manor was built in 1905 and was one of the original farmhouses for the Templeton area. Today Stuart Manor is offering boutique bed and breakfast accommodation, in a tranquil, private setting on three quarters of an acre of established and progressing gardens. We cater for six only guests and our three en-suite guest bedrooms are all on the ground floor. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stuart Manor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.