We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Zealand's best B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St James Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St James Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
St James Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   125 Waimakariri Road | Harewood, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 131 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Olten, Switzerland
1 review
“New Zealand's best B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

3 weeks in NZ, each night at an other B&B, we think, St. James was the best of all! We appreciated the heater in bedroom. Clean, cosy and delicious breakfast. The houseowner Margret is so warm, friendly and helpful in giving information for day trips and restaurants.
It was a lovely stay at St. James and we would recommend it to everybody! Thanks a lot, Margret!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
25
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed here for just one night but wished we could have stayed longer. Margaret the owner of the Bed and Breakfast was very helpful, we called her when we arrived at the airport to ask her the best way to get to the bed and breakfast and she offered to come and pick us up. When we arrived back at the bed and breakfast we had booked the upstairs room but the downstairs room was free too so Margaret showed us both rooms and let us pick which one we preferred. We opted for the downstairs room as it had a lovely view of the garden and a lounge area, however both of the rooms were lovely. There was tea and coffee for us in the room and cookies in the fridge which was a nice touch. The breakfast was lovely, and plenty of it! There were a range of cereals, fruit, youghurt and cooked breakfast. Margaret had also warmed some chocolate and yougurt muffins up for us but we were so full that she wrapped them up for us to take with us before giving us a lift back to the airport. Lovely lady and superb rooms, would definately recommend this place to others!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kulim, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Just a short distance between B&B to airport and car rental to make my trip more easier.
The room is bigger and clean that I never thought! The boss is so sincere and warm to make us feel like a HOME! Thanks for all the excellent service and quality!.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We chose the St James as we needed something close to the airport for an overseas trip. It was in the perfect localtion just 5 minutes away. The house is wonderful, Margaret has an eye for detail and the room had everything we needed, our ensuite even had a heated floor - luxury! The welcome was warm and friendly and Margaret was very helpful, she had even booked a restaurant for us that night just in case we weren't sure where to go. Breakfast was delicious with home baked muffins, home made jam, bottled red peaches from the tree in the garden and a huge cooked breakfast too if you wanted it.

Our biggest worry was where to leave the car while we were away but Margaret was happy to keep it for us AND she too us to the airport and picked us up again when we got back from the holiday!! Can't rate St James highly enough, perfect if you are jetting off overseas but also near enough to town that you can get there in 15 to 20 minutes. We will be telling all our friends about this perfect place to stay when you are in Christchurch.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

My husband and i took a long weekend away to visit Hanmer Springs and settled on accommodation at the newly opened St James. Understanding that it had only been open a few weeks we were expecting a few hiccups but were pleasantly surprised that not only was the venue itself perfectly presented and the rooms beautifully kitted out but everything that we required was ready and available for the asking.
Every item in the rooms had been carefully thought out to give the sense of a luxury - from the under floor heated tiling and heat pump, to the decandently made up bed with huge soft pillows to the robert harris coffee complete with Zip plunger.
My highlight was waking up to the sound of birdsong from the park that the hotel overlooks, a very relaxing start to the day. Everything was within walking distance also which meant that we didn't need to use our car for dinners, hot springs, mini golf or the hiking we did whilst in hamner.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St James Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James Bed & Breakfast

Address: 125 Waimakariri Road | Harewood, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your St James Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St James Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.